Denim Daze!

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

In case you didn’t know, I love to upcycle or repurpose  garments. Today it’s denim! I was on PInterest at 6:00a.m. today and denim things just kept popping up. Let’s look at some of my latest “pins” and then I’ll show you two of my own easy, peasy, projects. Aren’t the totes below, cute. While you’re thrifting, look for purses/totes that have handles you can reuse.

I like the way this vest uses several different denim colors to create a really distinctive look.

I love, love, LOVE this denim coat. Don’t use too heavy of denim pieces or you will never want to wear it. 

Great use of jean pockets. 

A super creative use of denim and belts. 

A very creative way to lengthen a top and use light weight denim. I believe they started with a denim shirt. 

A very fun way to use bits of denim and some favorite dress fabrics. 

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

Below are two projects. The bottom piece is a duvet cover, designed and created by Christine Barnes for a Sunset Book, project. Look for a copy of this book, Reinvent Series, Kid’s Rooms, by Christine Barnes for Sunset Books. You can find them on Ebay. This Duvet cover is one of the great quilting projects in the book. Today, though,  I will show you the pillow project that I designed (sitting on the duvet cover).  

I call the pillows “Rods and Reels”, because the design on the front reminds me of a rod & reel that you fish with. This was a “denim” issue that included my “vintage” denim pillow project. I enjoyed designing projects for Stitch and wouldn’t ya know it,  Interweave dropped the magazine. You might be able to find back issues on Ebay. 

I used all Kaffe Fassett striped fabrics. Yummy colors. I pre-stitched some denim pieces WRONG sides together and zig-zagged the seams open. Then I washed and dried the pieces so the white area would fringe some more. 

Terial Magic sprayed on all the striped fabrics really helped in the sewing process. Check it out at Terialmagic.com 

Laying out the rods and reels

I am using basting glue for this project. While it is a wonderful product, it is a bear for me  to get out of the tube. I have constant clogging issues. Sew, I have now started using good ol’ Elmer’s school glue. My hands don’t ache anymore. 

I put on my open-toed darning foot, lower the feed dogs, and have fun!

Below is my version of denim catch-all containers. 

Cut up the legs of a men’s pair of regular legged jeans(I have bins for legs, bins for waistbands, bins for pockets, ackk, I’m “binned out”).

Then I went to the shortsleeved shirt bin, sigh, it’s a disease, but I AM EMBRACING IT! Notice that the sleeve fit perfectly onto the leg piece. I did stitch out the fullness of the sleeve at the under arm portion   

I call the these “mock box pleats.” Make certain that they are of equal distance on both sides. 

Whirrrr…..stitching around the top edge. The hemmed edge of the shirt sleeve is turned to the right side of the container. Done!

A winterscape at Zephyr Point, Lake Tahoe, Nevada side.  This is where we will hold our 5th annual Artistic Alchemy Retreat. Aren’t you glad we will be there September 3rd-7th instead? Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy    Tap on the Artistic Alchemy icon for more

What is that white thing on the end of the dock? 

We went in for a closer look. My whole side of the family was up at Zephyr Point a few years back. The “thing” on the dock is a  snow sculpture made by a nephew. Here I am with hubby, and son.   Brrrrrr…..  it was really cold but we all had a great time!

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

Stay cozy this weekend. A perfect time for some handwork. It feels like crochet time, embroidery, polymer, knitting, fiber jewelry time. Accckkk! By the time I decide, the snow (that’s expected) will have melted. Thanks for stopping by. Hugs, Heidi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment