It’s Time for Totes!

by HEIDI EMMETT

Once upon a time, I wrote articles for different magazines, such as Stitch, Modern Patchwork, Belle Armoire, and a few others. My projects for the magazines were all very different (not one quilt). From silk and cashmere eye covers (for sleeping sweet), to an unusual tote bag.

I loved Modern Patchwork. They were great to work with and did very little if any editing on my project specs. That’s always boost ones morale. Notice that I said “Loved” as in past tense. Sadly, Modern Patchwork and oh so many other great publications have folded. There have been others to take their place. Australia has some great publications as does Great Britain and of course, her in the United States.

I design ALL my patterns, clothing or otherwise to withstand the “flightiness” of fashion. My “Art to Wear” garment patterns and accessory patterns are “Timeless.” Check out my Etsy shop: DesignsbyHeidiEmmett to see all of my collection. Triangle Tote is there too.

Here is a great shot of the BACK of my tote(they photographed it as the front). Can you believe it, someone didn’t realize that buttons strategically placed means the front of something. Sigh…

I like the way the knotted handles are showcased as a special feature of this Tote Bag. I decided that a regular handle was too ordinary for this Tote.

The machine quilting is easy. Use the edge of your pressure foot as a guide to follow the edge of the previous stitching. It’s all explained in my pattern. Yes, I turned my Terrific Tote Bag into a pattern (I could because the magazine is not published anymore). To the right I show you the batting I used. It is Pellon Iron- on fleece. It is a very stable batting and just right for this project.

The following pictures are of some other cool TOTE BAGS from my perusals of Pinterest! Have a look see.

The circles of this Tote would be a great “Carry Along” project. And I do LOVE a great denim upcycle. P.S. this picture has become one of my “Top Ten” repins.

I just repinned this one yesterday. I have never seen it before. I LOVE the little crocheted flowers accented with some embroidery.

Don’t you enjoy what I call, “Mindless Sewing” ? We’re goin’ round in circles.

I believe, hand dyed fabrics were used in this lovely interpretation of a “cross body” purse. I accidentally called them “body bags” once. DOUBLE OUCH!

These are absolutely charming little Totes. Denim and “Stitches by Machine” abound.

Cute Collage “Kitty Kat” on this artful Tote. I looked up Tote Bag handles on both Etsy and Amazon. They are O.K. but I prefer to look for purses and tote handles at the Thrift Shop and take them off of an otherwise useless bag. Orr… do something “knotted” like my the handles on my Triangle Tote bag.

You could make one of these lovely “slow stitched” bags in a jiffy.

I really like the panels on this Tote Bag. I think the panels are crocheted together. And the fabrics are Kaffe Fassett. Very fun! Oh look, a calico kitty in the upper right corner with dainty white paws.

Another Kaffe Fassett Tote Bag. All done in Hexagons. Pretty snazzy sequined handles.

And what have we here? This Tote is called “Pinwheel” from MY BOOK!

Where has the time gone? I created this book for a March 2015 publishing date. I only had 6 weeks to get it all done. I still have a few left. All the projects in this book are so doable for beginners and advanced alike.

Simple triangle pieces make for a difficult looking project. I ONLY create fun and easy pieces.

I love a strategically placed button to hide any “point” issues. A perfect summer Tote Bag. Contact me at hmemmett@gmail.com If interested (directly from me, shipping is always cheaper), or visit my Etsy shop: DesignsbyHeidiEmmett to check it out.

The latest Sunflower. This one showed up in the vegetable garden. This one is a traditional sunflower but still not as big as some. You just have to smile, a BIG smile when you look at this flower. I’ve said it before, there is a whole universe of discovery when looking at a flower. They are a taste of heaven.

The quote above, enough said don’t you think? Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate you all so much. Hugs, Heidi

Leave a comment