Upcycles, Free Pattern offer, Inspiration, & Studio Sale!

So much to talk about, let’s do this. Snow first. It was truly magical. 4 ” (of course I measured) of the lightest, fluffiest, squeakiest  (when I walked in it), snow. 

It happened last night, January 25th, 2018

I want to, from time to time put some of my treasured items from my Studio up for sale. I call it my “Studio Sale.” Find out much more on Monday, January 29th, 2018, I’ll send out a post. 

Inspiration and upcycling in one picture. I think this is really fun and different.  I need to try this.

Maybe not all the ruffles but an ingenious way to use a favorite pair of embroidered jeans. Cut off the legs, open one up and add whatever collage you want. See the faint triangle line on the ruffles portion below? 

You know how much I love circles. Besides all the bias edge of a circle and none to very little raveling, they can be used oh so many ways. Here they are on a t-shirt. 

A few super simple upcycling ideas. I bought this top for the copius amount of fabric. But then I tried it on…..I think I want to wear it instead of cutting it up. But it’s so loose in the neck area. It is a 1X and I wear an 8-10. 

It could not be easier. Pinch it whatever amount you need on one side of the neck (can’t do too much or it will look silly) and add a favorite pin. Off- set the pinch for an asymmetric look.

I’ve seen these many times on Pinterest. You can buy one for $26.99. I think this is a terrific idea. I own so many tops that seem just a little too short for the “look” I’m after. 

Check out this weeks version (I have more coming. They are in a pile to be sewn) I started with a mini -skirt made of stretchy tiers. This one was made for someone REALLY tiny. The waist was o.k. but the hips, uhhh….not so much. How do you like my fluffy backdrop? I was too lazy to run upstairs to my studio for the white board background. This backdrop is a pillow off the couch.  I kinda like it, Ethereal looking?

I found the center back, slit it up to the waistband and inserted a triangle piece of stretch lace (from a lace t-shirt). I even have a scalloped border. 

I like the fact that depending on the over-top, I can wear the lace bit in the front, or switch it to the back. A sharper image of the “under-skirt” below and guess who else? Rubix. 

FREE PATTERN!! No strings attached. Click on the Craftsy icon below and visit my “Art to Wear” pattern line  on Craftsy.com. Look under patterns/sewing/Designs by Heidi.  When I had my fabric store, this timeless 3 tiered skirt pattern was one of my best sellers. While there are many tiered skirt patterns out there, besides this one being free, there was much thought put into exactly where the tiers would hit on many body types. Enjoy!

 Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

The rose below is really inspiring to me. To start your own collection of inspiring pictures, go to Pinterest and do these things:  1. Follow Designs by Heidi 2. Look at some of my boards. 3. Find an interesting pin and email it to yourself. 4. Open that picture and add it to a specific folder (I labeled mine “Downloads”).

Oh, I just love those circles, don’t I. 

Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.                                    A quote by  Roxanne of Roxanne’s Wish & A Dream (a quilt shop in Carpenteria, CA , an area that has gone through fires & mudslides). Visit her site: Roxanne’s A Wish & A Dream.com    Take care everyone and find time for some new creativity for yourself this weekend. Hugs, Heidi

1 thought on “Upcycles, Free Pattern offer, Inspiration, & Studio Sale!

Leave a comment