Happy 4th of July, 2020!

by HEIDI EMMETT

I know it will be different for all of us this year but may the Patriotism and Gratefulness we all feel for this great country we call America shine through.   Please enjoy these pictures from years past that I have put together for you.

I use this pincushion shot every year because I LOVE the 4th of July and I LOVE to sew!
A 4th of July we spent at Zephyr Point (we were volunteers in the Bear Store).
A stunner of a sunset on the 4th of July weekend at Lake Tahoe 5 years ago. The Dixie paddle wheel boat is outlined on the horizon. Like clockwork, 8:45p.m. coming in to Zephyr Cove for the evening.
Totally untouched photo. 4th of July  5 years ago at Zephyr Point, Lake Tahoe, Nevada. A couple of phenomenal storms that weekend. Maybe that’s why the sunsets were extra gorgeous. This shot looks directly across to Emerald Bay. 10-12 miles away. There was a water spout and hail the size of quarters at Emerald Bay. AMAZING. It made the local paper. So unusual for summer, or any time really!
I just can’t get enough of this view. The intense colors of the water and FOURTH OF JULY!!!
Just one more shot…..Lake Tahoe, so soothing and calm after a storm.
We have only missed a few of the AMAZING spreads and fun, fun, fun, that goes on at my brother’s and his wife’s home every 4th of July. All right, which one of my 9 great nephews put their finger in MY FAMOUS flag cake? And stole a raspberry too?
They even make the copious flower pots that are poolside, match the days color scheme.

Tradition!! (Makes me think of Tevia in Fiddler on the Roof singing that rousing song about traditions). We all have them and my family is no exception. “Heidi’s Flag Cake” year 10?

The blueberries are just coming in. Fresh picked at my Mom’s house just this morning.

Rex the cat looks so intense or maybe he is reflecting on the 4th.
Happy 4th of July to you all! Until next week, hugs from Heidi

9 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July, 2020!

    1. Thank you! And to you and your family as well, Happy 4th! Hugs, Heidi P.S. I made a copy of your potato salad recipe from your blog. All these years I have been using russets. I can’t wait to try red potatoes. I’m going to forgo tradition, ha, ha (at least in my household).

      1. You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy the red potatoes. Hugs to you, too! ❤️

Leave a comment