A CARNIVALE TOP – Let’s Upcycle!

I found this really uniquely designed tunic top in an equally unique color scheme. It was made in Brazil. It was too tight in the hips(even though the fabric is a rayon knit) but I liked the design so I was determined to make it work for me. Fun design, contrasting coloring, made in Brazil – Carnivale comes to mind, sew let’s have FUN!

Whoa, this is a bit low cut. I will be wearing a t-top of some kind underneath. I think the design is fun. I did add the interesting detailing in red around the neckline. I will talk about how to do that in another post.

The back was so tight fitting. It had a convenient seam in the middle of the back. Snip, snip. I’m gonna make it fit!
It’s a nice stretch rayon knit, give a little tension on one side, easy to cut.
I chose this “plaid” Marcia Derse quilting cotton for the back insert. It really matches the bits of red on the front. I cut it out in a giant, wide at the apex (for some gathers) triangle.
I had already decided that I couldn’t leave that insert plain. I needed some colorful yo-yo accents. Whaaat? So I pulled out some fabrics that I thought might work. The top piece is filled with giant butterflies.
I go through a yo-yo phase every now and then. I make a bunch when I need some handwork. Clover has a yo-yo maker in lots of different sizes. Fast and fun. Now where did I put my bag of yo-yos? Found it! These will do nicely.
Placement is easy when you take a picture first. Then move them around.  Put one pin in each yo-yo to hold in place.
Attach a closed-darning foot, lower the feed dogs and start stitching around the outside edge. I even sew off the edge around and around (upper right) a few times for added interest. The yo-yos look good but it needs one extra touch. Hmm….
Yep, that’s my book. Just a couple of years old, but timeless projects. $14.00 includes tax. For the month of August 2019, buy one from me and I will ship it free. Email me at hmemmett@gmail.com to buy one. I am choosing the project in the upper right corner.
This is a fast and fun way to attach “fussy cut” pieces to a background. I love butterflies. From my current book,  Fashion Quilted Accessories, by Heidi Emmett for Leisure Arts.
Naturally, I chose to fussy cut a colorful butterfly for this project too. Apply Terial Magic before you cut it out. The antennas, ouch, I had to cut them off. It’s too hard to stitch around when the fabric is floppy. But you’ll see my remedy for stitching the antennae.
This technique is explained really well in the book, but here’s the quick version. Choose a thread to be used on the outside edges. It can be ombre or plain. Whatever you like. I was already into lots of “color” so why stop now. Ha, ha. This time I’m using an “opened”-toed darning foot for better vision. Lower the feed dogs. Set your machine to a mid-sized zig-zag stitch. Stitch length pretty close (but you will have control over that on your own). Start slowly, let the machine do the work (I don’t even glue it down, the Terial Magic helps the fabric stick to the background). Hands on either side of the foot and gently move from side to side just a teeny bit to give that jagged look and to fill in. You don’t want spaces. You can go forward or backward to help fill it in.
Don’t forget tear-away stabilizer on the back. As you can see, I sure did. Piece it if you need to. I did and I did a really poor job at it. Trust me, you WANT the stabilizer. It does just what it says. Tear it off when you are finished stitching!
Taa-Daa! Kinda fun don’t ya think? I’m going to wear a white tank under it and my white, slim capris.
It is all about the color for this tunic top. It’s so different than the front. Eye catching I think.
Don’t look too closely, but my butterfly’s antenna’s need some attention. Didn’t I say take your time, and go back and forth if you must to fill in? Sheesh, I can’t follow my own advice.
I’m wearing my “Carnivale” Tunic to our County Fair tomorrow. Have a great, creative weekend, and don’t forget, free shipping if you buy a book from me during August 2019. Hugs, Heidi

Leave a comment