This And That. Easy, Breezy, thoughts on a Hot Summer Day!

We all have to grocery shop. We maybe don’t enjoy it or we’re just rushed. Well here is my tip to make it a more enjoyable time. Next time you go, first thing, take 2 minutes and walk through the floral dept. Deep breathe while you walk among the beauty and color and designs that you see. Ahhhhh…….. Sometimes I even buy some flowers. Even carrying them in the squeaky cart (I ALWAYS manage to pick one of those, or the wheels are weird), calms me down. 

Wasn’t that nice? As I wheel into the fruit and veggie area next, the color and design doesn’t stop. I look at these beauties below with fresh eyes. Dragon Fruit, have you tried it? Neither have I. But as in your sewing experiences, it’s time to step out of the box now and then and try a new technique, work with colors you don’t usually gravitate toward…. 

Pineapple, we see it ALL the time. We use it quite a bit too. Have you ever barbecued it? Well, I had not either until I tried it at my friend Jean’s Bunco party. Ohh my gosh!! Totally fabulous! Fresh Pineapple BBQ’d (complete with grill marks). It looks fancy too. And so easy too. Slice it, add a tiny bit of oil, and pop them on the grill. That’s it. Thanks Jean!!

Oh, and corn. Here is the fastest, best way EVER! to cook it. Here it is, in its’ cute packaging. LEAVE ALL THE PACKAGING on and pop 2 ears at a time into the microwave. Cook according to your microwave. Pull out, let cool for a few minutes, and then open. Watch out for steam. Everything just sort of slides off as you pull on it. Amazing.

O.K. I’m on a food kick today. And I know the 4th is long gone (where HAS this month gone?), but I had to show you my flag cake. This was the first time in 2 years that we were home for the fourth. So good to be home with family. Check out the fresh blueberries. Again, I feel so fortunate being able to walk down to my mom’s house and pick fresh blueberries in the cool of the evening.  Chocolate cake (whatever flavor you like).  Fresh raspberries, washed and carefully dried.
Use a cream cheese frosting, frosted in a “rustic” manner (the sides are not frosted as I ran out)ha, ha. A lace cap hydrangea. It was mis-marked at the nursery, but I have grown to like it, because it’s different.  Just can’t get enough of these colors and designs.  It took a few years, but we finally re-painted our vintage wrought iron table and chairs. My job was to cover the chair seats. Label your chairs F & B and chair #. (mainly for the screw-in portions as each chair was different (on the sides).  Buy the very best quality of outdoor furniture fabric you can (did you know that NASA developed the coated portion of this terrific fabric that keeps it waterproof?). The method that I use is the fast and easy way as I want to get it done and enjoy them. Pull the fabric tight enough so it  takes up all the slack. Put a few staples in the middle of one side. Go to the opposite side and staple the same way as the first. And do the same on the other two sides.  The corners are then brought up and folded, whatever way you want to, but be consistent. I trimmed off the little tails. 

Taa daa! It’s like having a brand new set. We use it every day for at least one meal. 

More beautiful flowers to leave you with. Wish this was a bouquet I did on my own. Cosmos and Zinnias. But the next best thing is having a fabulous calendar by Workman Publishing. 

some easy, breezy, summer ideas this week. Thanks for stopping by. I will have a step by step project next week. Hugs everyone, Heidi

Leave a Reply

