“Woof, Woof, and Meow, Meow!!”

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

The speaker in April at our Pine Tree Quilt Guild here in Grass Valley, CA was Jane Haworth. She spoke on Creativity in our Quilting and what we love to do. More about that in future posts. Her workshop the next day was “Pet Portraits.” Below are a few of her pet portraits. Be sure to visit her website Janehaworth.com for more inspiring work.

Jane is just beginning the stitching process on this one.

The newspaper is 3-D!! Love that. 

We looked at hers and said, YIKES!! we are going to do this too? We’ll see. Below I am showing you the progress on Jax, our son’s dog.

The pictures of our pets needed to be 8 x 10. I chose a profile shot.

We started with the eyes. It was hilarious. The pieces were so small that I was constantly losing “the sparkle” or some other portion and that was JUST the eye. Patience, patience.  

Slowly, Jax is coming alive. Take a workshop or class. Challenge yourself. You will ALWAYS learn new techniques, new ways of trying things.

 

Taking pictures as you work and viewing them, give a whole new look on the project. 

Here are some of the other students work. I think they are ALL coming along beautifully! And we all said, I can’t draw pets! And just look at what we are creating!

Jane is showing us the stitching techniques she uses to make our pets have depth and texture. 

Fabulous idea! Use a lighter weight thread on the bobbin such as “The Bottom Line” so your bobbin is really, really, full. That way you can sew that much longer before winding another bobbin. Brilliant.

Below is a Llama, just because. 

O.K., after I do a picture on the wall for our son (wrapping it around a canvas for a “painterly” look), I want to do a Pet Portrait on, you guessed it, clothing. So, I pulled out a couple of my jean jackets (yes, I collect jean jackets too) and I’m thinking, what should I put on the back of jacket, a woof, woof, or a meow, meow? I’ll keep you posted.

Love my flower bowl that I just bought. Look at the pollen on the blossoms. Don’t forget, there is still room in my “Pick a Pattern” workshop at our 4th annual Artistic Alchemy Retreat at Zephyr Point at Lake Tahoe, this Sept. 4-8th. Click on the logo below (if it doesn’t work, go to Artisticalchemyblog.wordpress.com). Thanks for stopping by. Get in some creative time this weekend. You’ve earned it! Hugs, Heidi

P.S. Our Spring Time In The Pines quilt show is at the Nevada County Fairgrounds in Grass Valley this weekend. I will be in our Artistic Alchemy booth, selling patterns, books, and helping people sign up for the retreat. It’s going to be a GREAT show. Stop by if you can.

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

 

2 thoughts on ““Woof, Woof, and Meow, Meow!!”

    1. Doesn’t our work look GOOD? Thanks Mary. We have all decided as a class, to get THEM DONE! for the quilt show next year and have them all in a grouping. Too fun. I hope Jane will come and see them all.

Leave a Reply

