Mini-Me-Vacation, Part 2!

Sew many ideas and sew little time! Four days wasn’t enough. Below, it’s a family affair. Two daughters, Wynn on the left, Alex on the right and mom, Helen.These three were always busy, busy and they got projects DONE!!

We took this picture at the last moment on Thursday morning. Several had already left.  The amount of talent, generosity of sharing what they know, enthusiasm, and just plain fun to be around, that these beautiful women had was simply amazing.  I made so MANY new friends. 

Two racks of clothes to copy off the patterns if we wanted to. What great creations to check out. Did we bring enough bridal runner cloth to use for copying (great idea by the way)?

We all had our own sewing areas but were all in the same well lit,huge, room together.Check out Victoria’s shoes (in the middle). I want a pair of those.

Another great idea, the Ikea lights on giant clamps, on Mary’s and Patty’s machines. I have one too but it sits on the table. BEST direct lighting ever! I can work at night on black fabric with one of these puppies. $12.99-$14.99 range.

Mary is so smart. She brings everything but the kitchen sink to work with and puts it in this tiered cabinet. She has been enough times to know NOT to bring lots of little boxes. 

Cutting tables, nice and high, JUST for tracing, and cutting out projects. How nice not to have to clear an area somewhere (like I do at home). At home, a flat surface is for covering up with myriad projects, and the like. 

The FREE and Buy it table. New things were added several times each day! Every thing from fabric (all types) patterns, yarn, books. Toooo much fun! I’ll show you in the months to come what I gleaned from this magical, ever changing table. 

Kari’s  fabulous top in an “Alabama Chanin” style. Two t-shirts put together with Sashiko stitching.  A little painting, cutting, and stitching and voila’ !  Of course, as soon as I got home, I purchased two t-shirts to try this technique myself. Her underneath olive colored shirt barely shows above the collar of the black shirt.

Every day we had a show and tell.  Very cool things. These talented women really think outside the box. I loved this part so much, as the creative juices were really flowing in and through all of us. Terry (on the left) is wearing her own “Meiko Minsk” styled vest using a purchased piece of Kantha Cloth. Gayle looks like she is wearing some Merimekko fabric. Love the bold design. 

Below, Gayle and Helen are showing off their super cool Jean jackets. I will talk more in another post about this project that I want to make too. Acckk! Didn’t I say sew much to do and sew little time!

 

Look what Victoria gave me. She also brought, besides clothing projects, her latest quilting idea. Whaaat!!?? I could have brought quilting projects too? I put this square on a black table just to show it off. Victoria laughed at me and said, “It’s just a block Heidi (Log Cabin to be exact).” It’s the design, the fabrics, and colors she used. The black and gray print is a Valori Wells fabric.  Very modern, hmm..where is my sketch pad? 

Then, Mary brought her way cool fabric, so soft and drapey. Whaaat!!?? you PRINTED this yourself? Well, of course she did, and I should have known (she is one of our teachers at the Annual Artistic Alchemy retreat this Sept.)Go to: Artisticalchemyblog.wordpress.com  to learn more. A fun time on Lake Tahoe. 

Terry is trying on what Mary made out of her fabulous printed fabric. It is a very fun, cozy sweater/coat with a built- in collar.  Contact Mary Boalt at  Squeakypieces@gmail.com  She will get you an email address of Jenny,  the woman who will draw up a pattern for you too for $25. It is such a designer look. 

The back…

And three lovely models wearing three different fabrics in the same pattern. Helen (in the middle) made hers using 3 1/2 yds worth of cut up t-shirts. She made it in just a few hours. Really!! We all saw it. Heidi was still deciding, cut something out, sew something, I brought, hmm..how about using my felting machine, oh, wait, I could trace the pattern for the cute dress Mary is wearing right now, aaccckk! What to do, what to do.  

Here’s the cute dress I was telling you about, that Mary let us all trace patterns from.

Helen is busy at work helping Roxanne with her very own Jean jacket.

Here is Roxanne working with Helen. Several ladies watched a video on the whole project. A Dremel is also involved in this project. Really! Terry showed us. Another post, another post…..Are you feeling it too? Sensory overload! I need to take another walk and breathe. 

Thank you one and all for joining me today. Much more to show you. In a later post. Happy Easter to everyone. Talk again soon!  Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

