My “Mini-Me-Vacation”—Part One!

I have been home one week from my “Sewing Sistas” Retreat held at the St. Francis Retreat Center in San Juan Bautista, CA. I had such a wonderful time with my Sewing Sistas. I have never been to anything like this. I am so overwhelmed (in a good way!) that I am dividing it up. Part one consists of the Flora on the grounds. I took walks everyday and at different times of the day. The natural lighting was fabulous.

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

What a peaceful, beautiful place. Enjoy the pictures. Below is the chapel on the grounds.

 

This picture, we are looking up the hill toward the dining and conference room areas. Aren’t the fuchsia colored flowering trees gorgeous. These are native to CA, called Red Bud. They grow well (but slowly) from Sea level to 3000ft. 

African Daisies. Taken at 9:00a.m. I like the shadows. There’s that Fuschia color again. 

Here they are in white. 

All the water droplets are from a gentle rain the night before. Look at the difference in color on the back of the petals. 

Scabiosis, also known as “Pincushion” flower. Perfectly named as these flowers surrounded the fountain that the Sewing Sistas walked around while carrying our myriad sewing supplies (would you believe I had 1/2 of a king cab truck, a TRUCK!, filled with my sewing paraphernalia )and Kari, my sewing friend who drove us there had the other half. Oh, the little black dots are ants. 

The grape vines are just starting to leaf out (in the foreground). California wine grapes love the central valley and coastal areas. 

Eucalyptus trees, so many species abound along the coast and into the valleys. I love the way the bark peels off every year (there is some left in the branch crevices). The colors of the bark are amazing. A great color palette for any project you have in mind. Google that.

One of many vistas. Old, old, oak trees dot the hill sides that slope gently to the valley below. The hills in the background are toward the east. The San Luis Rey Reservoir is just past the tallest peak. It’s FULL!! The first time in 6 years. The drought is really over.  

Stunning, massive, solid, strong, just a few descriptive words for these oak trees. 

All of us who live up north in California (near Lake Tahoe four of us) commented that we could not believe there were so many beautiful shades of green. After taking the oak tree picture above, I looked down at my feet and just look at the lush grass and beautifully striped leaves of a spent fuchsia colored Thistle.

We were told this small lake on the property had been dry for quite a few years until this past winter. 

One large cluster of lilies at one end of the lake.

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

Look what arrived while I was gone! All my lovely projects came home. Now I can show people the projects with my new book. I am so excited to hear that Fashioned Quilted Accessories is selling well. Buy it on Amazon and if you are so inclined, leave a comment to help boost my number up some notches from the bottom! Ha, ha. Hugs to you for that. 

I hope my flora pictures will inspire you to pull out some fresh colors of spring fabrics and stitch up something that makes you happy. Until next Friday, Hugs from Heidi

2 thoughts on “My “Mini-Me-Vacation”—Part One!

  1. Your pictures are beautiful, Heidi, great job! It was so nice to spend time with you laughing and sewing all week. I can’t wait to get into your book and make some stuff.

    1. Thanks Patty! I had the BEST time ever! Did I tell you that my legal tablet has only 2 pages left unfilled with ideas, tips, and special things. You all were probably so tired of hearing me say, “Wait, I didn’t know that. I have to write that down!” You and your sister Mary, kept me in stitches (no pun intended) too. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

