TTF, it means “This and That Friday.”

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

I am miscombobulated today! I have had so much going on this past week. And starting this weekend, for 5 whole days I will be at a sewing retreat called, “Sewing Sistas.” I can’t WAIT!! This is the first time EVER!!, that I get to go away and just sew, and sew, and sew some more.  I will keep you posted via Instagram. I’m under DesignsbyHeidi or Heidi Emmett. Let’s take some time to smell some Spring flowers:  Happy Daffodils via Safeway. Buy them closed, rubber banded, and in bunches of 10 for $1.67. Bring home, snip off 1/2″ from bottom, insert into a cool watered vase and voila’ days and days of sunshine in your home.

I took the picture of my primroses one day after they were totally covered in 4″ of snow. You would never know it by looking at this picture. Love these sweet hardworking (to stay blooming) flowers. 

I walked around the corner of the house and BAM!! Forsythia in full glory. On a stormy spring day, I enjoy looking out the windows to see these bastions of spring, looking fabulous. We enjoy this hardy bush all four seasons. 

More sunshine in my life. Thank you Christine for these pictures. Some of my friends coming to my first EVER book signing party this past March 11th! Bonnie has a new stack of my books for sale that just came in. From the left: Connie, Bonnie, Heidi, & Kris. Luv to all of you who came that day. We all got the memo, wear some black!! What a shot girlfriends.

Another friend Terry McFeely. Terry invented Terial Magic of which I cannot work without. It is showcased in the project I am wearing and the cool headband and scarf project that I’m holding. Terial Magic is available through iii. I just did a guest blog post for them last Friday. Acckk, I forgot to share it! iii is Imagination International Incorporated. I’ll share it to my FB page in a few minutes. 

The following week I dashed down to the huge Sewing Show at Cal Expo in Sacramento. I stopped at Dorie Javier’s booth D’s Designs and she was wearing her version of my Mommy & Me Quilted Vest & Quilt pattern. 

Look at her gorgeous Sashiko quilting and fun designs shapes. 

Yes, this was the vest she saw me wearing just a few weeks ago. 

And here is the pattern. Look how different the above two vests are. I’d love to see what you might create. Easy peasy to make and VERY comfortable to wear. I have a new one cut out and will work on it next week. Oh my GOSH! Do you all realize, no cooking, no cleaning, no working in the garden, no book work, just sew, sew, sew. Ahhhhhh..

And a week before Sacramento, I opened my email to find pictures from Jeanette Floyd of San Diego, CA. She created her own “Off the Grid Vest” using my pattern below.

 

I love Jeannette’s wavy quilting lines. I’m calling this “San Diego Sunset” with the off white background and the yummy warm colors in her own version.

I just love this! Look at her button closure people! A perfect finishing touch. 

I love creating fun and easy to sew, Art to Wear patterns for sewists (doesn’t that sound fancy?) of all levels. I can’t wait to see what you all create this weekend. Thank you so much for stopping by. It means so much! Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

Leave a Reply

