“Are you “Wearin’ the Green?” Maybe in some Irish crochet?

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! Yes, I married an Irishman, and he was named after the great Irish martyr, Robert O. Emmett.  Before I go into Irish crochet,  let’s take our first commercial break…..

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

Yes, my first book that I have authored is OUT NOW! You can purchase one at Sugar Pine Quilt Shop in Grass Valley, CA . “Fashion Quilted Accessories” will also be available to buy at my Etsy store (on Monday, March 20th). My shop name is Designs by Heidi Emmett (or tap on the logo above).  Amazon, Joann’s, and other independent shops have it too.

I am very happy with how this book turned out. I think it has a beautiful quality to the pictures. There are two full sized patterns inside, 8 ,fun and easy projects, and all this for only $12.99.

My workshop at Zephyr Point this coming September,  is called “Pick a Pattern.” This year it will include, besides all my other patterns that are available, projects out of my new book, “Fashion Quilted Accessories.” Whatever project you choose to create, tips and tricks for success will be given on an individual basis. We will have so much fun! Check it out at Artisticalchemyblog.wordpress.com or click on the Artistic Alchemy button at the top.

Have you ever heard of Irish Crochet? It was born out of the potato famine in Ireland. Young ladies needed jobs and if they had any talent in the finer needlework skills, they were taught how to crochet using really fine threads and super small crochet hooks. I have been fascinated by Irish crochet for many years. When I made and sold my lace vests (pattern now available, called Mommy & Me & My Lace Vest and quilt), I used a beautiful lace that was a copy of an original Irish lace pattern. Below is a vest I own that is Irish Lace. 

I saw a squirrel, look at the vest above and see the crown? Yes, everyone should have their own metal crown. Anyway, underneath the crown is a piece of crochet surrounding petal shaped pieces of linen. I don’t think this is Irish crochet (not small enough stitches) but it is beautifully done. 

I don’t mind all the back lighting in this shot as it shows off the back of my vest even more.

Irish crochet is also a more free-form type of crochet. Pieces (like the lavender flower) are made separately and then placed on a pattern shape (a vest back perhaps). Fill in stitches connect all the separate pieces (the ochre colored thread) together. 

The few pieces I own are so special to me that I keep them near my “go” bag in case we have to leave in a hurry. This is true. I really appreciate the skill and time and creativity in these pieces. 

Traditional Irish crochet has always been done in cream or white. Here is a close up of my cream sleeveless top. 

Wedding dresses during Edwardian times were popular in Irish crochet. 

If you want to see more Irish Crochet, go to Pinterest and type it in the search bar. Ebay might have some too, or the patterns for it too. Eastern countries like Russia, Latvia, etc. have an interest in Irish crochet too, but that’s another story. Today is all about the Irish.

I think I’ll wear my vest tonight and celebrate Saint Patty’s Day with my husband. Thanks for stopping by. Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

 

Leave a Reply

