I’m Feeling Blue—-In a GOOD Way!

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy

Rain, rain, rain. I don’t mind it though, because I have more time to sew! Did I tell you that I live, “as the crow flies,” 50 miles from the Oroville Dam, in Oroville, CA. Some of you may have heard about the problems. All the ruckus started last Sunday, late afternoon. Their fixes seem to be working. The water behind the spillway is down 30+ feet (and still falling), while last Sunday, 2 feet OVER!  A very Scary time for all those people.

I’m feeling blue, because I want to get those little yo-yos onto my “Mommy & Me” vest that I showed you in my 1/20/17 post titled- “Yikes, Black & Blue ……..” I’m using a gorgeous Perriwinkle blue, boucle’ wool for the base (from my stash, yeahhh).

dsc_0542

Here is the pattern I used. I wore it for the first time this past Tuesday and received rave reviews wherever I went. Easy to make the foundation vest, but do all the embellishments you want BEFORE you sew it together.

dsc_0150

Of course, never one to follow my OWN rules, I am NOW adding the yo-yo’s. It isn’t bad doing things later as this vest is nice and loose. dsc_0006

Felting down a yo-yo. Or you could stitch it by machine, or by hand. I like the yarn idea. The picture below was taken at night, lousy light, just like the video, my very FIRST one that I posted to FB. Did you see it? My FB is DesignsbyHeidi. The video is good, for my first one, ever, it’s just the bad lighting.  The video goes with the sweater further down the page.

dsc_0302

I will add beads tonight. I just can’t STOP!!! dsc_0308 dsc_0365 dsc_0367

Rex came up to help while I felted. He blends right in doesn’t he? Check out the pillow he is lounging against. 1/2 off but still $50.00.  I bought it for the felting and wool fabric manipulation ideas. It looks good on the couch upstairs in our t.v. room. That’s where I usually felt so I can watch t.v. too.

dsc_0317

Here is the yarn I used to felt down the yo-yos. Amazing amount of other colors. I LOVE this yarn, called Gina by Plymouth yarns. dsc_0309

I pulled some off the skein to use and check out what happened to this yarn. dsc_0342

Here’s a close up. Maybe one of you marvelous knitters can tell me why it twisting up on itself so much? I reeled off just what I needed and took it to the ironing board and with the iron set to wool and steam, gently tugged the “kinks” out of it. It worked really well.  A close up of the kinks below. dsc_0344

Then I proceeded to felt it to my gorgeous Eileen Fisher, Perriwinkle Blue, Merino wool, sweater. The “hole” reason I was felting is that I discovered a real hole in the sweater. I thought I will cover it up with bits of yarn felted down. Well…, you’ll see that I really did NOT check to see where the hole really was. Here’s the back. dsc_0346

I saw something similar on a gorgeous sweater from an Anthropologie catalog from 5 years ago. Did I ever say that I can’t throw much away? I treasure those catalogs and others for an abundance of future ideas. dsc_0347 dsc_0349

Taa daa!! There is the hole. I guess I will sew it closed (by hand) and then continue on with the yarn felting. The single strand felting of yarn is VERY fast, and very fun to do. dsc_0356 dsc_0360

Maybe it’s raining where you live. It’s a perfect time to start a new project! Hugs, Heidi

P.S. Don’t forget to find my felting video on my  FB business page (DesignsbyHeidi).  I will learn how to get it to the blog posts and to You Tube, but I just had to try it right then and there, last night.

P.P.S. Sign ups for the Artistic Alchemy Retreat have begun. I have my first student! So yeahh for that. Remember, my workshop is called, “Pick A Pattern.” Click on the logo below and you’ll get all the information you need to sign up.

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

2 thoughts on “I’m Feeling Blue—-In a GOOD Way!

  1. I love the vest. I love the stitching. I love the color. And I love the striped blouse you’ve paired you it with. 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

    1. Thank you Mary! And I have a story on that blouse, I bought it as a “cutter.” I literally had my scissors to the top of the sleeve to cut it off first, when out of the corner of my eye, I spied the “Mommy Vest” sitting with a pile of yarn to decide on for felting. I looked at the blouse and then at the vest. Pulled those scissors away really quickly and sooooo grateful I had not cut it up. Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

