Patternless Sewing! It’s Easy!

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

Start with my Off the Grid Vest pattern (the miracle vest!).

????????????????????????????????????

 

????????????????????????????????????
Add some beautiful batiks (these are by Alison Glass) and a fabulous foundation ombre fabric (buy it at Christine Barnes.com)

dsc_0146

Prepare fabric pieces with Terial Magic and cut strips from them.
dsc_0092-2

Stitch up some off-centered Log Cabin blocks (it’s all in the pattern instructions, not to worry).  Whirrr…… pedal to the metal! dsc_0093

Gather some highly technical tools to create your own pattern pieces from the measurements I give you. It really is easy. dsc_0149

Have fun setting out the pieces to create your own unique design. dsc_0136

Add some simple, let me say that again for emphasis, SIMPLE, quilting lines on the vest back, then arrange some strips. and using either Basting glue or Elmer’s school glue, glue them to the vest back. dsc_0114

Log cabin squares pinned to the fronts and then glued. Ready to stitch in place. dsc_0146-2

Some more stitching and echo stitching to create a slimming, linear look. dsc_0247 dsc_0227

A nifty finishing technique for all the edges and a cool flat stitched seam allowance. Simple instructions are included of course.
dsc_0208-2

You have to get this pattern for a truly, Art to Wear piece. You will be walking on air with all the compliments you receive. I’m not joking! dsc_0311 dsc_0592 dsc_0556

And here it is inside out! So many ways to wear it! dsc_0316

Isn’t THIS a cool look? My friend, Lila Sugg made this fabulous necklace for ME! I think it is a perfect compliment for my vest. Lila is 92 years young! You are one amazingly, talented woman Lila. Oh, did I mention its made using real potatoes? I posted about this, a long time ago. I HAVE to get my past posts organized. Soon….img_20150409_160828

A student’s vest (Pat from the Bay Area) from my Art to Wear workshop at one of our Artistic Alchemy Retreats. Love the deep rich colors. pat-vest-front-open-draped

Carolyn from New Zealand created this stunner after purchasing my pattern online. Carolyn is 82 years young (you go girlfriend) and made this to celebrate her birthday with family in Switzerland. I just love it!new-zealand-ca

And Trish, at an Artistic Alchemy retreat, made her version of Off The Grid vest. She walked out of workshop wearing hers!!! You are the BEST!dsc_1038

And at last years retreat, Sherri also walked out at the end of the retreat with HER FINISHED Off The Grid vest. Beautiful work Sherri. And she added her own twist to the back.

dsc_0615

I LOVE the back of this vest that uses a quilting panel piece. Thank you again Sherri, for saying yes to my using your panel idea in a project for my upcoming book. It’s going to press next week!! I’ll  keep you all posted.

dsc_0616

Commercial break: Here we are in order from the left, Mary Boalt, Sandra Bruce, Christine Barnes, and me. Sign ups for Artistic Alchemy #4 have just opened! Sign up soon. I hope to see some of you in my workshop this year: “Pick A Pattern.”  Click on the A.A. logo below to learn more.
aa-for-instagram

Thank you so much for stopping by. I hope you all have time to do something creative this weekend (cleaning up after recent storms does NOT count). Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

2 thoughts on “Patternless Sewing! It’s Easy!

Leave a Reply

