Anatomy of My Modern Patchwork Project!

I love hearing from those who have made one of my projects! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and send pictures. Modern Patchwork,  Fall 2016 is the latest magazine project.
cover-mpfall16

I received this picture from Karenanne from Portland, Oregon. She made these two Free-Form Circles pillows for her sister for Christmas. And then, she had so much fun with those, that she created her own design for a third pillow.  Way to go Karenanne! I love them on your red couch. karenannes-pictures

Carolyn from New Zealand made her version of F.F. Circles Pillow for a friend for Christmas. Love the black background to make the colors pop!fullsizerender-6

Carolyn had so much fun with that one she said and her friend liked it so much that she made her another one. Way to go Carolyn! fullsizerender

Another woman from North Carolina emailed me. She hasn’t sent pictures yet, I hope later. She asked if she could teach this project to her beginning machine quilters. Love that idea!

Now who is this? Jax, is our son’s dog. We were dog sitting and we spoil this dog. He can sit anywhere he wants! Jax saved us from a would-be robber who was casing the neighborhood. 30 robberies had been committed in our neighborhood. It was broad daylight and the robber came to the door on the pretext of needing to use the phone. Jax is very well trained, but lunged out the door and my husband had to pull him hard, back into the house. Long story short, the guy exited quickly after that and we called the Sheriff and they caught him.  Jax is a hero in my book. Rescue dogs and cats are the BEST! dsc_0165

Saw a squirrel, sorry about that, now back to our story about Free-form Circle Pillow. 20160924_120349-2

Long ago, in a room filled with fabric, I collected a bunch of “Grunge” fabrics by Moda. I fanned them out and thought and thought. These colors are so yummy next to each other, how about stacking them some simple way? P.S. Those flowers in the picture are Oragami Roses my son made for me for Valentine’s Day, years ago. Best gift EVER! dsc_0961

Now to get to work. I found three circle objects of varying sizes and traced them onto stiffened fabric (using Terial Magic) and cut them out.  Take note of the scraps in the upper right corner. You’ll see them again shortly.dsc_0532

Fanning them out just to look at them. dsc_0556

While fanning out the circles, I glanced over to those scraps I mentioned. Uh oh, I saw a squirrel. What if……?dsc_0540

And look at these felt balls that are mere inches away from the scraps. dsc_0577

Oh my, I turn to a pile of Alison Glass (Andover fabrics)and yowzaa look at that Medallion piece (I CAN NOT cut that up, it will forever remain like that I’m sure). All these colors and designs are fun together. Aacckk! dsc_0547

And yes, there is paper in my life too. The piece below was wrapped around a house plant. I believe the house plant is long gone, but I love the design on the paper.  I just know I can incorporate this design with everything above.  dsc_0549dsc_0599

More scraps of shapes, color, and design. So it’s O.K. to have some playtime with scraps. You never know where it will lead. It’s no wonder I have a hard time falling asleep. dsc_0596

O.K., O.K. back to free form stitching. These circles are NOT supposed to be perfectly, evenly, stitched. That is the whole idea for the project. Freedom to enjoy the process. I had to include this black and white picture, for a rest from all the color. I used iron on fleece for the batting. It is great to work with and never hangs up on the feed dogs. dsc_1232

Super, handy hint for you. When free form machine quilting, if you backtack a few stitches when you first begin, you can go in with your scissors and trim off the excess. Otherwise, that open toed darning foot can get hung up on loose threads and cause you angst. dsc_1240

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

dsc_1276

If you want a copy of Modern Patchwork, Fall 2016, I have a few left for sale. There are some great projects in that issue. hmemmett@gmail.com Be sure to dash over to Artisticalchemyblog.wordpress.com We are GOING LIVE to tell you all about the Artistic Alchemy Retreat at Lake Tahoe this Sept. 4-8th. Fun and more FUN!! Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

