P.I.P. – Que up the Band! I finished One!

What, you say, is a P.I.P.? I call it  “Projects in Progress.” I have so many, so YES!, Que up the Band and let’s take a look.

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

Once upon a time Heidi sold a most beautiful boucle’ wool in her fabric store. It was  Perriwinkle Blue. As one of Heidi’s favorite colors, she spirited some of it home. Fast forward 20+ years (please note that I “spirited” lots of pieces of fabric home for future use). At the present time my husband feels that I brought it home to provide better insulation for my attic studio. Ha, ha, ha. I needed a proto-type of something that wasn’t quilted to create a “Mommy & Me & My Vest.” This wool fabric is perfect. dsc_0201

I started stitching and felting on the much too plain fabric. I made big stitches (like Kantha cloth) using Knit Crosheen thread. For the felting, I found a lovely wool yarn (and several others too). And somehow I would use my piece of  Kaffe Fassett’s  “Paperweight” fabric in the project too. dsc_0207

One of my newest patterns is below and I wanted to see the drape of a fabric other than something quilted, so that’s why I chose the wool boucle’. Let’s find out.

dsc_0152

This pattern is available to purchase through Craftsy.com (PDF file only) or as a hard copy from me by contacting me via email at hmemmett@gmail.com about it.

dsc_0004-3

I took the pieces with me wherever I had time to spare for stitching the running lines. Wow, I forgot how wool gets hot when it’s draped across one’s legs during summer. So, it got put away until cooler weather. Yes, a P.I.P.dsc_0208 dsc_0209

In the meantime I discovered (hidden in my stash), another great Kaffe fabric, Mille Fiori. Oh yeah, I need to make some yo-yo’s for my vest. Clover makes the coolest tool for creating yo-yo’s. I own every size they make. dsc_0531 dsc_0535

Start with a squareish piece of fabric. Lighter orange circle is on the right side of the fabric. Darker orange “petal” looking circle pops into the wrong side of fabric into the lighter circle. dsc_0523

Trim off the excess to about 3/8″ all the way around. dsc_0526

Stitch down the excess fabric following manufacturer’s directions and voila! Adorable little puckery, fluffy, circles of yumminess. dsc_0528

Where will I place these yo-yo’s? dsc_0553

dsc_0558

dsc_0567 dsc_0564

I think the story of this P.I.P. ends well. I love my vest/jumper. And don’t you think it has a nice drape? I finished it just in time to include it somewhere in the Kaffe Fassett Extravaganza trunk show that Christine and I are giving in the Bay area next week. And, I’m going to post it right now on the Kaffe Fassett Collective on FB. Check it out. Anyone can join. You will love what you see from all over the world. Sew up a storm this weekend! Perfect sewing weather for me as we are going to have a whopper of a rain storm. They are predicting “up to a foot of rain!” Hugs, Heidi

One thought on “P.I.P. – Que up the Band! I finished One!

  1. That is so cute. I love periwinkle too. It’s one of those colors that looks good on everyone. And those BIG stitches are wonderful. What patience! It turned out great! And perfect for our weather right now. Stay dry and don’t float away.

Leave a Reply

