Creativity Abounds When you Attend an Artistic Alchemy Retreat!

 

Sherri P., my student from Mission Viejo (she drove a looong way) said I could post pictures of her AMAZING Off The Grid Vest. We’ll start with the finished pics first.
dsc_0614

I am bummed that this is the only picture I have of the front! What was I thinking?
dsc_0616

Sherri had a different idea for the back of her vest when she first arrived. Then Fabric Chicks from Minden arrived and she spotted this amazing cityscape picture panel. She finished her entire vest while at Zephyr but chose to do the quilting around the cityscape on her longarm when she got home. Pictures Sherri, I need pics and would you get a full shot of the front for me too? Thanks.  dsc_0617

I love how she chose to cut it up and showcase it in her vest. What a wonderful idea. dsc_0619Here is a little closer view of the front pieces.
dsc_0403Sherri learned to make her own pattern pieces, basically all of them are rectangles (they are on the wall to the left). It took Sherri (and others too) less than an hour to create her own pattern pieces. There are only 4. dsc_0404dsc_0405

Yummy, yummy, rich, color scheme. dsc_0407This really is a miracle vest in that little, to no adjustments are made to the pattern pieces. Read what others have said about the vest when they tried it on. Go to the home page and under “workshops” there is a page of quotes from ladies. dsc_0542

Look, the collar piece is almost finished.

dsc_0561

And here are front pieces, almost ready to put the whole vest together. dsc_0550

Eeeek! We had a mouse in the house!  This is Sherri’s adorable pincushion.

dsc_0193

And this beautiful pillow was a gift to ME from Sherri. While a thoughtful and beautiful gift,this pillow became the catalyst to send me on a quest for a Sweet Sixteen (Handi-Quilter) sit-down quilting machine. The day after I got home from the retreat, I FOUND one on Craig’s list. I will pick it up at the Pacific International Quilt Festival in October. It WILL CHANGE MY LIFE! Thank you Sherri for telling me why I have to have one (my husband needs a bit more convincing). I’ll tell you more next time we meet. Until then, dream up your next Art-to-Wear piece that YOU will create, and make it happen! Hugs, Heidi

2 thoughts on “Creativity Abounds When you Attend an Artistic Alchemy Retreat!

  1. I look forward to making one of your wearable art pieces. I’ve signed up for your class at the Pinetree Quilt Guild Jamboree event. Your tops in my book. One very talented, kind and genuine ladies. 😘

Leave a Reply

