Introducing: “Mommy & Me & My Lace Vest & Quilt!”

Finally! Wow, what a process this time, because it’s 3 patterns in one!!! I am really proud of this pattern. Mommy & Me is the first in a series of patterns that is directed toward beginner sewists, young and older alike! Misses sizes XSm-Lg, Girls, 4-8, plus how to create your own unique small quilt.

Buy this vest pattern (3 in one) on http://www.Craftsy.com/Sewing patterns/Designsbyheidi $13.95 for a pdf file (you do it on your home printer or put it on a thumb drive and take it to Staples) or, buy a hard copy (all tissue pattern pieces and instructions included) for $25. This includes tax and shipping. Mail a check to me, Heidi Emmett, P.O. Box 208, Cedar Ridge, CA 95924 or if you have a Paypal account, just type in my email address: hmemmett@gmail.com and follow the prompts (super easy). Either way, I’ll get a hard copy to you asap!

DSC_0393

This is a loose fitting vest and a little longer than some. It’s long and lean (my mantra for ALL my patterns).  Lace is so popular right now, check out what you might have at home (I’ve been known to cut up a tablecloth or drapery panel)!

Yes, I have been collecting lace for YEARS! Trim, all over lace yardage, as well as border laces. This pattern is perfect for border laces. DSC_0370

The trim on the two vests looks whiter, because it is. I mixed colors of lace in the quilt too. Be sure to visit the Terial Magic blog post next Thursday, August 25th. I am the guest blogger and it will feature this pattern.  I made my own lace “looking” fabric for the back. Whaaat? I don’t want to give it away, but I think you’ll love it.  DSC_0358

A close up reveals that I’m using cotton laces. But nylon, and polyester, silk, etc. they will ALL work beautifully. DSC_0354 DSC_0334

Yes, you all get to look at some of the over 465 pictures I took to get just the right shots for this pattern. Thank you for looking!DSC_0333

This was probably the most fun I have ever had making a quilt. No experience is necessary,  but relaxing and enjoying the whole process is!  I give tips on how to put it together, and quilt it too. DSC_0283

DSC_0305

In between photo shoots I remembered I had to water (101 that day, OUCH! but they say out west, “It’s a dry heat.”) Anyway, I threw the vest over a silk printed tunic and I like it. It’s a Bohemian look. DSC_0304

Rex was banished to the house during one of the myriad photo shoots (on the quilt, under the quilt, accckk!). He looks so innocent doesn’t he? DSC_0045

Rubix, he preferred to lounge on the top of the fountain. He could stay. DSC_0751

Close up of my “Sketch Stitching Quilting.” LOVE, LOVE, doing this. It truly is fun and easy. DSC_0768 DSC_0766

Here is a quote that I think really speaks to my newest pattern:  “There’s no right way, no formula. There’s nothing but struggle and constant refinement. We always have the daily disaster or three. But when it all works, it’s pure magic.”  -Karl Lagerfeld, Designer     Have a wonderful, and creative weekend. Hugs and thanks for stopping by today. Heidi

 

2 thoughts on “Introducing: “Mommy & Me & My Lace Vest & Quilt!”

Leave a Reply

