More Ideas With Denim- Who Knew?

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned       Don’t forget, click on one of these icons and see more of my work.

Here is a blast from the past (one of my very first posts). It bears repeating because stenciled, bleached, torn, embellished, embroidered,quilted, denim is hotter than ever! My pictures are not all in a proper order. But that’s o.k. you will get it.

DSC_0123 (2)

Finally, I get to use some of the stencils I have collected over the years!!DSC_0127

I use the inexpensive acrylic paints I own thousands of (slight exaggeration). A proper stencil brush is important too. And use a dry brush (take off most of the paint first and add light layers to achieve the depth of color you want), with up and down pouncing motions, never at an angle or the paint will go under the stencil. DSC_0001 (2)

Her is the denim jacket I’m working on. DSC_0171-1

Why did I turn it inside out? Because that it is just like the jacket I saw for $95.00. Wear it right side out and it’s an ordinary jean jacket. Turn it inside out and voila, a whole new look. DSC_0127

Layer colors if you want but do it quickly so the paint doesn’t dry (and will blend if you want) and always paint dark colors first. Don’t forget to heat set the paints so they become permanent. DSC_0008 (2)

Taa daa! Who knew you could turn a jacket inside out and wear it, ON PURPOSE, that way, and you will look very chic!DSC_0174-1
DSC_0123

While hunting for these pictures, I found this one of my “helpers” Rubix (on the left) and Rex, partners in crime (shredded leather dining chairs to name one). They were four months old in this pic and were right here by my computer, sleeping in a basket. DSC_0231

Yikes, I just found a bag of MORE stencils I forgot I bought. Oops. But they are soooo nice, one can never have enough stencils.  DSC_0183-1

A great t shirt that I bought for the front panel.

DSC_0005 (2)

So I cut up the t-shirt and added the yellow crochet flowers to the back of the stenciled jacket.

Look in your closet. I bet you have a jean jacket hiding in there somewhere. A quick project to get done this weekend. And what fun to do it with others, adults, teens, and kids. Hugs, Heidi

2 thoughts on “More Ideas With Denim- Who Knew?

Leave a Reply

