Almost ready!– Mommy & Me & My Lace Vest and Quilt pattern!

I am finalizing the instructions and packaging and will soon have it available for sale on Craftsy. Take a look at what I’m doing:

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

I am also thinking how best to showcase the Mommy & Me lace vests on the pattern cover. They are sort of hard to view here. Busy background, busy lace. Hmm.. maybe I’ll wear all black and stand (once again) in front of my giant English Laurel.  I have to think about lot’s of little details, but it’s exciting to see this pattern come to fruition!DSC_0686

This vest has a square cut arm hole and side piece. DSC_0696

I really like the wallhanging that goes with the lace vests. DSC_0744

It is not pieced. But has a fun and light-hearted use of lace scraps (from the vest), trims, painted flowers, yo-yo’s, and a striking background of an Aussie fabric(M & S textiles; might find this one on Ebay or Etsy, sorry, I can’t remember the name). DSC_0747 DSC_0746

We have a whole group of new and young sewists in the wings that need nurturing in the fiber arts. I love the easy and inspiring  way that this pattern will encourage them.

DSC_0766

DSC_0768

Helper Rubix (I almost stepped on him while taking these outdoor pics).DSC_0738

And other brother, Rex. He is lounging in the runaway Oregano. TIP: Always plant herbs in pots, or they will become like weeds and TAKE OVER your garden. DSC_0752

I always want to show another “view” to a pattern. So here is my idea: start with a butterfly fabric from the Tim Holz collection. DSC_0391

Place a chunk of fabric in a ziplock bag and spray with Terial Magic (visit Terialmagic.com). Make sure it is covered with the T.Magic. (but not to the drippy point). Iron (dry iron on cotton)until the fabric is dry. Now it is acts like a piece of paper so it is easier to cut and sew on anything.  DSC_0392

And I’m going to do the same thing to my lace scraps. DSC_0396

Isn’t this beautiful? And it’s cotton. And I used it 34 years ago in the train of my wedding dress. Of course! I designed and made my own wedding dress. It is made up of four different laces, maybe more. And yes, I just dug out all the scraps. I’ll show you a picture sometime. I’m very proud of it. And I just love lace. I collect lace. I have 2 tubs of nothing but special laces. DSC_0400 DSC_0399

I’m looking at different laces for the fronts (below)and mix in different laces for the trim and something REALLY UNUSUAL for the back. DSC_0401

But before I show you that, check out my new scissors by Kay Buckley. They remind me Ikibana scissors(used in flower arranging). These are lightweight and easy on the hand to hold. They have micro-serated edges. They just might be my new favorite scissors. I bought mine through Sandramollonquilts.com and that’s where I got the butterfly fabric too. DSC_0402

O.K. I’m busy cutting out butterflies and I’m going to stitch them to the most unusual fabric EVER!! I know it looks like tissue paper. It feels like tissue paper. But according to Judy Coates Perez (visit her website of the same name, she sells this on her site, ask her), this is “banana fiber” of which tea bags are made of. I can paint it, dye it, sew on it, and gently wash it. Why not, let’s see what happens. All rightie then, I’m still hunting and gathering. I sew wanted to have it done to show you. Next post. DSC_0404 DSC_0405

Take care everyone. Hugs, Heidi

 

Leave a Reply

