I Saw a Squirrel or Two or Three….

What does that mean? Well, I know it as: I start talking or doing one thing, then suddenly, something different comes to mind so I talk about that, or walk through a room while working on something and see something else that needs doing right then and there and on and on…. O.K., if you could follow that sentence, then I bet you see squirrels too!

I’m popping this fun pinafore/apron onto the Kaffe Fassett Collective today. Go to FB and search KFC. Sign up! Anything Kaffe is on there.  Over 14,000 members. A great place.

????????????????????????????????????
Since it’s all about Kaffe Fassett fabrics, I’m not showing the nice deep pockets. I used a different fabric. Shhh..don’t tell.

DSC_0022 (2)

Isn’t this quilted flower pin fun? I  added some cotton batting, edge stitched the petals and cut off the extra fabric and  leaving  the petals with raw edges. An old pair of earrings became the center of the flower.  DSC_0023 (2) DSC_0026 (2)

????????????????????????????????????
So, I’m heading out the door to take my pictures and I’m hit with my first squirrel…this adorable needlepoint pillow perched near the front door. I have to take some pics and tell you that I found this needlepoint at the thrift store. I hand washed it and turned it into one of my favorite pillows.  TIP: When you visit your favorite stores, check for pillows on sale, even really ugly pillows (usually the cheapest). Unzip the cover and check the pillow form. If it’s a size and type and price that’s good, snap it up. Have you checked prices of pillow forms lately? Too expensive for me.

DSC_0040 (4)

Ohh yeah, another squirrel, check out the chair. I bought this chair at a church yard sale at the town of Red Dog, off You Bet Road, outside of Grass Valley, CA in 1999 for $7.00 (funny names but I live in a Gold Mining community). I believe it is an 18th Century Savannah Windsor chair.  It was put together with wooden pegs and it has not been refinished at all, just the way Antiques Road Show likes. Well, I thought I had found our son’s college money in this chair. I looked at it very carefully and discovered that someone had CUT THE LEGS DOWN! Why, oh why would you do that??!!

????????????????????????????????????

I just took a break to fix lunch, and forgot the  fresh corn on the cob in the microwave. Squirrel sighting,  I just learned this amazing TIP: Put an ear of corn, husk ON, in the microwave for 3 minutes. Using a pot holder and sharp knife, hold the top area using the potholder, and slice just to the corn portion all the way around the ear of corn at the bottom. Pull at either end and everything just falls off, husk, and all the silk in one fell swoop. Amazing. And be sure to cook it the day you buy it. It’s at its freshest.

????????????????????????????????????
I had to water my newly planted flower seeds and passed by this “Wave” petunia. They used to call them “Cascading” petunias but they changed the name and charge more. Loved the light on them at that particular time of day. They look so happy. And the colors remind me of the flower pin on the apron/pinafore at the beginning of the squirrel sightings.

DSC_0027 (2) DSC_0028 (2) DSC_0030 (2)

So I put the pinafore away and this issue of Modern Patchwork slid off the rather tall pile. Squirrel! Yep, there is my project for “Triangle Tote.” I will sell you a pattern for this fun flat tote bag and I will include hand drawn equalateral triangle pieces. Send a check made out to me, Heidi Emmett for $14.00 to P.O. Box 208, Cedar Ridge, CA 95924, and I will get it right out to you. DSC_0665

I love the way these long triangles work so well together. Oh dear, another squirrel. Check out my “shabby chic” picket fence. Oh well, we call that “Life Patina” at our home. Works really well, trust me. DSC_0040 DSC_0055

Looking at this tote, front and back, I am going to find my sketch pad and draw up a vest pattern possibility using these triangles. Hmm…will they make me look fat going that way? DSC_0063

Enough squirrels for one afternoon. It’s sad sometimes, my brain wont shut off, even at night. But that’s when you will find me on Pinterest. Follow me by clicking on the icon below. Have a wonderful, creative weekend! Hugs, Heidi

P.S. There is still plenty of time to sign up for my workshop with Artistic Alchemy Retreat up at Lake Tahoe in September. Go there by clicking on the Icon below!

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

6 thoughts on “I Saw a Squirrel or Two or Three….

  1. Heidi, I loved your post! Yes, I see many squirrels too, especially when I am working on one project, and three more new ideas are popping in to my head.
    Mona

  2. Heidi, Hi, It’s me Raedean

    I sat down to read your post about Squrrel Sightings. What a hoot. I swear we should have a blood test, we are so much alike, (except I don’t have your artful talent). I cannot tell you how hard I laughed as I read “oh another Squrrel sighting !!!!” Your apron is adorable and so are both purses. I need to put blinders on so I can focus on my sewing and see less Squrrels. Keep up the posts, I so enjoy having a cup of coffee and devouring each post.

  3. Hi Heidi, love your post!! I see lots of squirrels too and can definitely relate. Gene said to tell you hello too.

    1. Wow, I am finding more and more squirrel sighters! Love it. Thanks for reading Krista. Say hi back to Gene for me. I just got off the phone with mom and she said to say hi to you both! She’s 85 and doing really well. We walk almost everyday and solve the world’s problems while we walk. Take care now.
      Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

