Creative Play Time, We all Need It!

My Artistic Alchemy partners in all things Creative and I went to the Judy Coates Perez Ephemera and Tea Bag workshop. What a great time we all had, of course!! In case you don’t know everyone, on the left is Christine Barnes, then me, (Judy C. Perez the teacher, she’s not part of our group though), Sandra Bruce, and Mary Boalt. We make up Artistic Alchemy. The 3rd annual Artistic Alchemy Retreat at Zephyr Point, Lake Tahoe is coming up. There is still room in all the workshops. Please hit the Artistic Alchemy logo below and see what we are all about. I am the only “Art to Wear” workshop. Check it out, and join me for some major fun! Also, please note: I did not get the black and white memo! Ha, ha. We were supposed to wear clothes we could paint in. Who wears white to paint in I ask? Check out the painted on silk, yes, silk quilt behind all of us. Just one of many of Judy’s gorgeous pieces.

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

DSC_0019

DSC_0031

Judy is busy explaining how to paint on tea bags, how to quilt through tea bags, how to hold them down, how to draw on them, etc. Below is some of HER gorgeous work.

DSC_0025

This entire small piece is made completely with tea bags. She has had 20+ articles in Quilting Arts and Machine Quilting. So check your back issues.
DSC_0026 DSC_0027

All right, I should not follow with my own work, but I am just learning and this is just the first layer.

DSC_0020

We did stamping, thermofax stencils, and lots of ephemera and on and on.  DSC_0021

We even added Napkins!! Soooo much fun. Check her out at “Craft Napa” (workshops in January)DSC_0033

I even threw in a piece of lace scraps from my wedding dress of 34 years ago (upper right corner below).  I just found my scrap bag of my wedding dress that I had made. Hey, I will have to show it to you on our anniversary week in a few. Sigh, I can’t throw much away. I’m starting to get better. I HAVE TO! This is crazy! And my husband still loves me. DSC_0039 (2)

Here is Christine’s. DSC_0037 (2)

Sandra’s has fun colors.

DSC_0036 (2)

Mary’s is 3rd from the left in the top row. She brought the Eiffel Tower napkins so of course we all had to have one in our pieces!DSC_0040 (3)

More and more! There were 21 of us in the class. DSC_0041 (3) DSC_0042 (3)

Who knows what we will all do with our pieces but what a great time learning new and old techniques in new and exciting ways. When I got home that afternoon I spied my seed packets (ready to be planted) and thought, ohhh yes. I just might be able to use the empty packages in a mixed media project. It will be perfect. Have a creative weekend. Next week, look for my blog post on Saturday. Thanks so much for joining me today. Hugs, Heidi

DSC_0002 (2)

One thought on “Creative Play Time, We all Need It!

  1. This is just amazing! I can’t imagine painting on teabags!!! (unused, I assume!) Incredibly creative. Thanks for the great pics.

Leave a Reply

