Try This!

 

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

For years and years I worked with kids in elementary school to help them get creative. It has really helped ME with my own CREATIVITY! Below is the original “Flower Power” that I helped my little ones to make (special needs). They did ALL their own work, from the background, down to placement of each item on the 14 x 22 canvas.We all had so much fun making this piece and it made big bucks at the art auction!
DSC_0765

Truly a mixed media piece. Acrylics, liquid watercolors, bubblewrap stamps, wire, beads, and fancy papers. Oh and all the background hills are torn pieces of leftover paper towels (used for blotting watercolors on another project). Ahh yes, doing my part to recycle. DSC_0773 DSC_0775

All rightie then, at home with more paper towel painted pieces, and my own wired flowers, I’m thinking, can I put all this on a fabric base and quilt it? YES!!! I DID IT!!DSC_0372

The bottom “field” fabric is a 100% silk piece I cut out of a skirt. I liked the soft coloring on the wrong side and the hints of the woven in  dragon flies zipping across the field.

Toooo much FUN! You need to TRY THIS! Start small. mine is 16″ x 16.” This makes it very doable in an afternoon. DSC_0356 DSC_0358 DSC_0359

An afternoon play time. You’ve got to TRY THIS!!DSC_0361 DSC_0362

Here is a very helpful hint, use Terial Magic for the flowers. DSC_0333

I cut circle stacks out of silk blouses and placed them on waxed paper and sprayed them. DSC_0363

So much easier to stitch when treated with Terial Magic.

DSC_0364 DSC_0366 DSC_0367 DSC_0368

Ahh, yes. Had to show this picture again. I’m wearing Terrific Tabard vest, in the “Aussie Angle” choice. The Aussie stylized flowers in my fabric remind me of my fun, wired, stacked, and stitched, and beaded flowers. Don’t forget, sew up T.T. by making it whole cloth (one piece of fabric) like Sandra did below. Email me at hmemmett@gmail.com if you want to purchase a hard copy of “Terrific Tabard!” P.S. Yep, that’s me with braces! Don’t you think I look 30 years younger? A friend said they look “charming.” I like that, goin’ with that one. DSC_1095

I wish you all a very creative weekend! Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

One thought on “Try This!

  1. YOU are amazing. . . do you stay awake at night – mind designing??? Fun fun fun…

    Keep on posting!

    Hugs, Judi

Leave a Reply

