Making “Felties!”

 

Another crazy week in the world of technology for Heidi! The new computer came, we saw, it failed! A new mother board and power source are waiting at my son’s house to be installed. Maybe this time it will work! In the meantime I have been making “Felties!” What are those you ask? Please enjoy the following pictures: they are all out of order, sideways, and accckkk!, not set up how I would like (I’m on my husbands computer again, and ohhh, it’s too involved and boring, and who cares? Enjoy.

DSC_0385 DSC_0386 DSC_0390 DSC_0391 DSC_0392 DSC_0393 DSC_0394 DSC_0395 DSC_0396 DSC_0397

These are so fun to make and to look at. I first put some on “Instagram” (different ones) and a friend saw them and asked if I would make her some for her newborn’s “manly” decorated nursery. She wants to make a mobile out of them. Ohh yes, let’s do this. I went to my Ginormous stash of yarn (I just LOVE, LOVE, anything fiber related). I gathered these yarns below.  Felties are easy to make. You will need: a felting machine (you could do it by hand but that’s too slow for me), yarn, pretty much any type, some work better than others. I don’t like rayons (too slippery), or big baubled yarn (breaks needles) and two layers of bridal illusion. DSC_0398 DSC_0401 DSC_0403

I make a spiral of yarn with my fingers and place it onto the illusion (tiny holed netting). I might add another little spiral of another yarn on top. Whirrrrr, whirr, goes the felting machine. DSC_0405

Trim the illusion away from the outside edges. Voila! Some fun little appliques for whatever you choose to put them on. Hand stitch (takes too long for me), machine stitch, even gluing them on will work. I will take a picture of Michelle’s “Feltie” mobile for baby Garrett as soon as it’s done. Can’t wait. I’m going to go call her right now. DSC_0406

Make time this weekend for some crafting goodness. Remember, even 15 minutes is all you need to get started. Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_follow me on Instagram too (looking for that button) to put neatly besides these other three – type in DesignsbyHeidi

Leave a Reply

