Whisper Blouse- NOW available with Tissue Pattern Pieces!!

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

Finally, the tissues pattern pieces that I hired Simplicity Patterns to create for my Whisper Blouse pattern have arrived!!  So if you purchased Whisper Blouse pattern from Craftsy.com but don’t want to download all the pattern pieces ( to tape together), send me $4.00 for the tissue pattern pieces only.  Orrrrr…if you don’t want to go to Craftsy, send me $14.00 and I will send you a printed pattern that includes the tissue pieces(tax and shipping is included). My address is: Heidi Emmett, P.O. Box 208, Cedar Ridge, CA 95924.
DSC_0089

This is my latest Whisper Blouse. I really went crazy on the fabric choices. I had great fun creating the back. Ha, ha, I’m still not done with the back yet! I have some small yo-yo’s that I want to add here and there. They are so small, I seem to have misplaced them for the time being.  DSC_0688

The front piece is an all over large print by Alison Glass. My friend Christine Barnes gave it to me. I fussy cut around the “bouquet” and it was my jumping off piece for all the other fabric choices. DSC_0109

Look at this pile of lusciousness! There are hand dyed pieces from Sandra Mollin (check out her website, Sandramollin.com, she does AMAZING hand applique), Alison Glass, Kaffe Fassett, and EVEN, drum roll please, a piece from my fabric store that is only 25 years old! Are you reading this Robert (my ever patient husband)? I actually used something from my stash of insulation materials (that’s what he calls all my fabric) honey! DSC_0437

When I first finished this version of Whisper Blouse, I did have a crisis of confidence (too wild, a cacophony of fabrics), but once I did that final press and slipped it on, I felt good, really good. DSC_0095

Check out this close up of the back. Around the flower on the right is a rainbow of colored stitching. A waaaaay fun and easy thing to do. I learned it from Carol Taylor (check out HER website. Amazing Art Quilts). Oh dear, the technique just went out of my head. Never fear, I have to go up to the machine and start to create with it. It WILL come back to me, and I will take pics to show you all. DSC_0690

The back is a very lightweight denim and the front is 100% linen. I’m loving grey or is it gray? Whatever, it is the new neutral in my book. EVERYTHING colorwise goes with it. DSC_0694

The variegated thread is by Superior Threads. Love playing with the variations of color. Remember, the thicker the thread, the bigger the needle and you will have smooth sewing. DSC_0696

Here is the Whisper blouse that appears on Craftsy. NIK_2650

I love using different fabrics all around. Give me a week and I will have a separate page (at the home page of this blog site) devoted to Whisper Blouses. And the story of how it turned into a pattern. It is a fun story. Once upon a time, I finally was able to go to Sisters, OR for the big outdoor quilt show…….NIK_2569

This is October, can you believe it?, the change of weather just makes we want to nest in my “fully insulated” sewing studio and create! And don’t forget, hit one of the buttons below and check out all manner of fun stuff. Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

9 thoughts on “Whisper Blouse- NOW available with Tissue Pattern Pieces!!

  1. LOVE LOVE the Whisper Blouse. I went on Craftsy and it is not in tissue pattern yet. How do I get tissue pattern? Can I send you the $$ and order it directly? It would be a fun project for this winter.

    1. Hi Judi, Thanks for asking that question. Craftsy is an online only site. Everything you buy there comes directly through your own computer via PDF format through to your printer. If you don’t own a printer you can load the PDF files onto a thumb drive and take it to a place like Staples and they will print it up for you. Orrr…send $14.00 to me, Heidi Emmett P.O. Box 208, Cedar Ridge, CA 95924 and I will send you a complete pattern of Whisper Blouse, including the tissue pattern!
      Hugs, Heidi

  2. Hi! I absolutely love this pattern! Especially in Kaffe! I was wondering if there will be anyone at Houston selling this with the tissue or should I order from you.

    All that being said, I haven’t made any garments and I notice you talked about a serger. I’m a quilter and don’t have a serger. Do you think I could start with this pattern (as a newbie) for garment making? And, can I still make it without a serger? Or should I find a friend to trade skills with?

    Thanks! So cute!

    1. Hi Ellen,
      Thank you so much! Alas, no one in Houston will be selling them, this year. You do NOT need a Serger to sew this or any of my patterns. And no worries on not making a garment either. If you have made quilts, you can sew this blouse! The hardest part is attaching the flouncy skirt pieces to the bodice portion. I feel that with my instruction steps and pictures, you can do it. Also, I really want success for those who buy my patterns so I tell everyone to please, please, email me if you have any questions.
      Hugs, Heidi

  3. Love love love this! My daughter has been going to music festivals and had me make her some festival wear last summer ~ thinking this pattern may help expand both our wardrobes! I sent a check out to you through my bank for the tissue pattern, looking forward to getting the pattern. Thanks!

    1. Hi Carolyn,Whisper Blouse will be perfect for music festivals as I made it to be looser fitting for comfort. If it seems too loose, add a pretty pin in the back that gathers up some of the fabric. And for you too. I will watch for the bank check. Thank you for the tissue order. It will make your sewing life so much easier. Hugs, Heidi

      1. Hi Carolyn, Just to let you know, I received the check late Friday, and will pop a pattern/with the tissue into the mail on Monday, first thing. Can’t wait to see what you create.
        Thanks again for your order.
        Hugs, Heidi

  4. I purchased your Whisper Blouse pattern at PIQF. (I snagged the last one! Yay!) I have to say that sending the model along to the show made a HUGE difference in my decision to purchase. At first I was disappointed that the pattern didn’t show how to do the pintucking on the back of the bodice, but literally squealed when I read on your page that I can buy it ready made. Whoot! The Kaffe Fassett version is my favorite so far, but I can’t wait to play! ! ! Thank you!

    1. Hi Letha, whoo hoo! Glad you were able to snag the last one. I just give the basics of sewing the blouse in the pattern, BUT, I am developing a page on my blog, just for pictures of other Whisper Blouses and I fully intend to do posts on how I did the fun stuff on the bodice portions of my other blouses. I have to tell you that on the pintucked back of the Kaffe Whisper Blouse, finding that one was serendipitous. I have not seen it anywhere since. BUT, pintucking isn’t hard, hmm…that could be my first post. Or if you are in a hurry, “Google it” and I’m sure a video will pop up.
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

