RAFIKI Skirt Pattern, I’m so EXCITED! about this one!

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

May I introduce Rafiki Skirt Pattern,  which will publish on Craftsy.com  by Friday!!! That’s TODAY!! Go look for it. Hit the Craftsy button above. But first, read more, it’s just too exciting.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my friend Judy Stokes with some of her beautiful students from  Rafiki  in Josh, Nigeria.

The Rafiki skirt is an a-line skirt that flares at the bottom edge and has a draw string waist. This is a great skirt pattern for beginner sewists.

It is made up of 8 panels. Each panel has 7 fabrics in it. They are first strip pieced and then cut into 8 separate panels.

The Rafiki skirt is the 3rd pattern in a series using simple shapes. You will make one skirt panel pattern the African way (using measurements). I will take you through this process step by step. Really, it’s easy. One panel pattern piece is all you will need to create.

Rafiki skirt is not copyrighted. Use this pattern to make skirts for yourself, friends and family, or to sell. Please, give credit to the Rafiki Foundation and Judy Stokes the designer. Print up the accompanying story (in the pattern when you purchase it) so that others will learn about the Rafikifoundation.org   If you feel led to donate a portion of your sales or to donate to Rafiki, please do it in Judy Stokes’ name. Monies that are donated will enable Judy to work at the main offices in Eustace, Florida with her continuing program writing. A large portion of the monies from the sale of this pattern will go to Judy through Rafiki.

Here I am at Zephyr Point in the original Rafiki Skirt that I bought from Judy after coming home from Africa .

DSC_0048DSC_0049

It’s very comfortable and really and truly, the easiest and most fun you will have sewing a garment. I will teach you the African way to make your own pattern, just like Judy does for her students.

DSC_0040

Here is my Western version in Kaffe Fassett fabrics. Bright and colorful. Oh, and one Marcia Derse fabric (the red violet stripe). DSC_0031

Thank you for considering the purchase of this pattern. It’s a win, win, WIN! all the way around. As I write this post I am already thinking that my next Rafiki skirt will be out of Aboriginal fabrics (I certainly have a few of those)! And,  a little girls version will follow soon too!! Oh, yeah, the possibilities just keep coming. Have a creative weekend. Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

2 thoughts on “RAFIKI Skirt Pattern, I’m so EXCITED! about this one!

    1. Thanks Christine. So appreciate the feedback. I know you have one in all Marcia Derse fabrics that I made for you at least a year ago. I will post pics of that one and my other (Marcia Derse) Rafiki skirts soon.
      Heidi

Leave a Reply

