Anatomy of a Project For Stitch Fall 2015

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

I am always honored to be picked to do a project for a magazine. Stitch is the one for this Fall. I thought I would show you how it works. From idea to finished product. These are some highlights.Stitch Fall 2015 COVER

The call comes through email for submissions needed for such and such a season. All the parameters are spelled out including color schemes. Sketches are okay after you have done it a few times otherwise, you send pictures of what you have created or the item itself. So below are some of my ideas for using my fabric leaves. I sent these leaves and two pages filled with sketches off to Stitch. DSC_0045

When I make the leaves I always use Terial Magic first. It gives just enough body to make it easier to sew them together. DSC_0017

Two of my ideas were accepted and I discussed with the editor my fabric thoughts using their colorways provided. The apricot runner portion is Silk Shantung and the leaves are all Marcia Derse fabrics.
DSC_0003

Sew it up and write out ALL the directions. And it needs to be right or you get an email from the technical editor. DSC_0015 (3)

I was so “to the wire” on this project. So my picture is really bad. But I always take one before I ship it off so there is a record, just in case. See the branches with leaves on them? Well they were project number 2. I did not see them in the magazine nor were they returned to me. So, I will have to find out what’s what. They really are cool. I give a trick on how to help them slip over a branch (the twigs are fake and have wire in them). DSC_0040 (2)

Well, I sent the above off to Stitch. They received them just fine but the editor, Amber Eden (who by the way is OVER worked), did not like my apricot silk shantung. I get that, even looking at the photo above, I could do better. She suggested teal and I ran ALL over town to find teal ANYTHING! I had to make a complete new set of 36+ leaves and get it made and mailed and correct the fabrics, threads, etc. Below is the picture I sent to her and I hounded her (sorry Amber) until she said yes or no on this change. DSC_0050

 

Taa daaa! It worked out. I love it! You have to buy a Stitch magazine (more like a book I think) and make your own table runner. You will really get hooked on making these leaves. They are truly easy and FUN!Emmett Fall Leaves Runner

 

I was so pleased. Three weeks after they received the teal runner I got an email saying they liked the leaves so much that they wanted a summer version and picked two from my many other ideas that I had sketched out. Below is the grouping of fabrics I sent to Amber and she picked from them. These are shot cottons by Kaffe Fassett and Marcia Derse prints.  These “summer green” projects were going to be featured in an E-book, coming out in June. Well, June is gone, and I have not seen or heard anything. I did sign a contract. Another question for Veronica on Monday. I do get it. They are always thinking about future books, magazines, and e-books. It might happen and it may be tabled until next summer. Oh, the world of publishing. Crazy and ohhh the deadlines!

DSC_0293

I sure sewed up the leaves for these two projects. I put a book on tape in and just settled in for the pure joy of being creative. leaves for stitchThanks for walking through a project with me. All the stress and deadline issues fall away when I hold the finished magazine in my hands. Go out and find some creative time. Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

 

Leave a Reply

