Connecting Threads in The City Goes to The Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

Welcome everyone.  I call the little quilt below “Connecting Threads In The City.” I have entered it in The Blogger’s Quilt Festival. At the bottom of this post there is a blue logo titled Amy’s Creative Side. Click on it and you will go to Amy’s Blog which will lead you to the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. You can vote for your favorite quilts in many, many categories. You will also be able to enter many drawings for all things quilting. The coolest part is that while at the festival click on any picture of a quilt and visit that persons blog. I entered my quilt into the “Mini” group. It is only 12″ square.

DSC_0139

I started with a piece of pre-quilted cotton fabric.

DSC_0049

Then, I started pulling out all sorts of goodies.

DSC_0054

I knew I wanted something “citified” as the buildings that you see were hand painted pieces of paper! Yes, paper from an 6th grade art class that I pulled out of the trash!

DSC_0064

Slivers and bits of fabric add to the painted papers, while the thread work does the connecting I was looking for.

DSC_0066

I love, love, LOVE these pieces of paper. If only I could make fabric this way. Hmmm…..why not?

DSC_0067

DSC_0142

Oh yeah! Sequins from Cartwright’s.com and vintage seed beads just finish it off.

DSC_0141

What a fun piece to make. And I like the size too.

DSC_0143

Yummy colors to work with.

DSC_0148

I purposely left the threads at the bottom because they remind me of the connections we can have even when we live in a city.

DSC_0144

Thanks so much for visiting my blog today. Go ahead and click on Amy’s logo and take a trip without leaving your chair (except to get something to eat and drink), visiting so many places and learning new and creative things. Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo         AA Logo1follow-me-on-pinterest_

P.S. Check out our ArtisticAlchemyBlog  too for another quilt that I entered.Amys Creative side

2 thoughts on “Connecting Threads in The City Goes to The Blogger’s Quilt Festival

    1. Thanks Christine. Don’t forget to check out The Blogger’s Quilt Festival. Quilters and their blogs from all over the world are represented! Vote for me if you please. Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

