I Took a Little Trip…

 

follow-me-on-pinterest_     Craftsy-Logo      AA Logo1

I took a little trip recently. While many of my friends were going to Far Away places, I did not. My husband and traveled 70 miles

DSC_0186 to Chico, CA. I decided to take my camera and see what there was in this town of 88,077 people. We stayed at the Goodman House in downtown Chico. It was lovely and we had the BEST home cooked breakfast ever. Tom and Margo Goodman were excellent hosts. And Margo introduced us to Cara Cara oranges. You have to try them. Sooooo sweet.

DSC_0183

The home was built in 1906 with  many Art Deco touches. This is the original wall paper going up the stairs. File this one away for a quilting idea perhaps.

DSC_0193

The main street.

DSC_0195

The Presbyterian church on Chico State University property. It felt English somehow. And I loved hearing the bell chime on the hour.

DSC_0197

A lovely river that runs right by the church and into Bidwell Park. Bidwell is ranked 14th largest municipal park in all of the United States. Those higher up are in cities like Los Angeles,  and Houston. It really is a pretty park. Almost 4000 acres.

DSC_0204

Right over that bridge and next to the river on the other side is Bidwell Mansion. Beautiful, and the ginormous tree next to it. Bidwell mansion was home to one of the founders of Chico.

DSC_0200

This cool sign is across the street from the mansion. I like the clarity of this sign. How could I use the shapes? Also, you wont want to miss the Sierra Nevada Brewery. The tour is fantastic. They are a hugely “green” company. Their beer is so popular that they opened a second brewery in North Carolina to service the East coast and Europe! I left my camera in the car. Oh well, we’ll just have to go back and take another tour so I can get some pics.

DSC_0210

What a great tower in this “high rise” (four story) hotel. It reminds me of the coast with the clouds behind it.

DSC_0244

I turned around and had a most wonderful, A HA moment. This HUGE mural and its’ twin were on the wall of a parking garage. How did he do this?Each one is maybe 15 feet high x 20 ft. long. I could not get the whole thing in my view finder (I would have been in the middle of the street). THIS is what I wanted to see. Something unusual and fraught with ideas for future projects.

DSC_0221

We must give Dayton Claudio credit.

DSC_0217

DSC_0212

DSC_0214

DSC_0222

DSC_0223

Local objects (fabulous obsidian arrowheads) and scenes of the area abound. I loved the colors he used, the found objects, the movement of line. How I will translate this into an”Art on the Wall, Art to Wear” project  is anyone’s guess. I have many more pics to share with you another time. Wherever you go, keep your phone or camera at the ready. You just never know what treasures you will see. Enjoy your creative time. Hugs, Heidi

 

follow-me-on-pinterest_     Craftsy-Logo      AA Logo1

 

4 thoughts on “I Took a Little Trip…

  1. Thanks for sharing your trip. It may only 70 miles for you, but I’m looking in from the UK, so holiday territory for me. It always feels a little strange and rather cool that we live is someone else’s holiday destination.

    1. Hi Bekki, Thanks so much for visiting my blog and your comment. It is still amazing that someone way over in the UK is reading about me and what I do in California. The UK manages to pack so much history and gorgeous viewing into so few square miles.I love visiting your area, but it has been many years. Oh I have to tell you that you must Google Grass Valley, CA (where I live). We were a gold mining town with the mines teaming with the best miners in the world, all of them from Cornwall. Our town just celebrated St. Purin’s day and ended the festivities with a Pasty throwing contest (filled with Kibble dog food for easy cleanup). Pasty’s (human ones) are a big business in our town. Have a super week. Hugs, Heidi

      1. I just found my photo album from my last trip to the U.K. I knew we had eaten a Pasty sitting outside of Wells Cathedral.Is Wells in Cornwall? The napkin (yes I saved one! and its in the album) says West CornWall Pasty Co. Maybe they are shipped allover? It is sad to say that the last time I was in the U.K. was May of 2000. Need to go back, WANT to go back. I could consult a map, but it’s much more fun talking to you about it.
        Thank you for the Poldark idea. And yes on our Public T.V. Poldark was shown, but I don’t remember watching it. I will look into the books. Right now we are all watching Downton Abbey, well, it just finished. And many of us (all my friends) have just discovered the Best British Baking Show. Love it, love it. I’m always hungry after watching it. Have a great week. So nice to chat with you. Hugs, Heidi

  2. Hello Heidi, Have just googled Grass Valley – very interesting. I live only 10 miles from the Cornish board. It makes a lot of sense that Cornish miners went to the US in the gold rush years as they had the right skills and were starving here with tin mine closures. Have you read the Poldark series of books by Winston Graham? They are set in Cornwall in the late 18th/early 19th centuries and are absolutely wonderful. They’ve just remade the TV series – there was one in the 70s too – don’t know if you’ll end up with it over there, but it’s not a patch on the books. Unsurprisingly pasties are big business here and St Purins day is celebrated not far from us too with a far amount of pasty throwing. Have you been to Cornwall when you’ve visited the UK?

Leave a Reply

