“Thar’s A BEAR!”

My husband and I have gutted our upstairs bath and and we are working on the tiling right now,around the bathtub. While Robert has been making cuts, I rush downstairs to my office and have been looking for just the right pictures for this post. Robert came in looking white as a sheet. He said he had to go out to the shop to make a special round cut, opened the back gate and saw a very large dark hulk of a bear. They eyed each other, Robert shouted at it, and Robert felt certain the bear said, “Really? Why don’t come a little closer.” Robert slammed the gate shut and ran into the house. It lumbered through the front yard and disappeared. YIKES!!

DSC_0240

Taaadaa! The finished lampshade I promised you.

DSC_0241

I am very happy with it.  It will do until the day I find the perfect rectangle shade that doesn’t cost a small fortune.

DSC_0268

Check out this beautiful sunset from my back yard, actually I was bit into the neighbors Christmas trees to get this open view.

DSC_0275

This is what I have been doing of late, raking, raking, raking!

DSC_0024

And, picking the last of my veggies out of the garden. Early girl on the left, and Sun Sugar cherry type on the right. Ohhhh a sad time picking the last yummyness.

DSC_0249

I did say I have been raking leaves didn’t I?  We planted these trees, ALL these trees because we love color! I forgot that they get BIGGER every year, meaning more leaves every year. Oh well. They are totally worth it!

DSC_0037

O.K., O.K., I love taking photos of fall beauty in-between hauling leaves over to the neighbors Christmas trees (great mulch and they keep the weeds down). My armillary makes a sharp contrast against the snowball bush. So vibrant this year.

DSC_0086

I have never seen leaves like this on a Dogwood tree. Beautiful.

DSC_0022

All this beautiful color and in my yard no less!

DSC_0642

My office helper, Rubix,  hiding under the rug until I get him a treat. Thanks for walking through our yard with me and listening to our bear story. I gotta say in 28 years of living here, we have never had a bear in our yard! Alas, I have been too busy to create anything new this week. I do at least 15 minutes a day though, working on my projects in progress (would those be PIP’s?). Sometimes I pin on Pinterest for 15 minutes as my creativity. That’s o.k. too. So here’s to creativity in whatever form you choose this week. Hugs, Heidi

3 thoughts on ““Thar’s A BEAR!”

  1. Heidi, we’ve had 2 bear sitings in our yard. I think the drought has brought more critters down to civilization. Your trees are gorgeous! I was afraid the drought would make for subdued colors this year…was I ever wrong! Thanks for the visual feast in your post.

Leave a Reply

