This & That and DON’T FORGET TO VOTE!

Another gorgeous fall day! I have been absent for a few weeks. One week of bliss at Cabin A at Zephyr Point, Lake Tahoe , and then a week of  “I don’t care about anything”. I am back on track now. DSC_0510I even got a little bit of fall in the background of this lamp. This is not a sewing project, but  something I just thought might work for you someday. The lampbase was my Mother-in-laws. It’s metal, old, and really cool. The gorgeous rectangle shade was mangled in the move to my house. A new one starts at $45.00 plus tax and shipping. Every frugal bone in my body shouted, no, no, NO! Too expensive.

DSC_0512

A closeup of a nasty looking replacement shade. A really nice quality shade, water damaged on the one side but not on the inside. And FREE of course. I stole it off of my friend Christine Barnes’ porch. I did call and report the theft to her (I knew it was destined for the trash, but wanted to check just to make certain).

DSC_0513

Helper kitty, Rex. His right eye is closed just enough to make it look like he doesn’t have a pupil. He does. I just wanted to point that out. Rex is showing you what I plan to cover the water damage with. Found this tape at Tuesday Morning, the store. T.M. is an off shoot of “Needless Markups” (aka Neiman Marcus). An upscale (sometimes) T.J.Maxx . They have added a fun, craft/yarn/even fabric area.

DSC_0516

Yes, it is Washi Tape. Just discovered the coolness of this stuff. I think this coolness could become an expensive “new” hobby “must have”. It is paper that has a stickyness to it and holds nicely to whatever you put it on. Cut it, tear it, whatever you prefer. I have several different patterns in this narrow width. I plan to apply it one on top of the other until the water damage is covered. I will show you the finished results asap. The whole idea is to save money so I have more money to spend on FABRIC and YARN!! DSC_0518

Rex, what a Kingly pose!

DSC_0172

DSC_0173Fall sunrise on Lake Tahoe looking toward the Western Shore. Hours before a storm with 45 mile an hour winds came up.

DSC_0329

Later in the morning, storm clouds just starting to peek over the Western side of Lake Tahoe. This is Pope Beach. Usually there is only a small strip of sand and rocks showing.

DSC_0384

Back at the dock below Cabin A as the storm really started to move in. Have a great rest of the day and don’t forget to vote! AND get out and enjoy the fall color wherever you live. Hugs, Heidi

One thought on “This & That and DON’T FORGET TO VOTE!

Leave a Reply

