Tutorial Tuesday and other Fun Stuff!

I have been gone for a week. A few pictures later in the program…It is a most fabulous summer day (technically not until the 21st but we are soooo close) and it is time to Summerize my couches. DSC_0082

 

One cozy, winter looking Chenille love seat.DSC_0085 (2)

 

My off white, 13 oz. weight, cotton duck, slipcover has been packed away all the long winter. Out it comes looking quite wrinkled!

DSC_0086

 

Work it gently over the arms. Larger couches require a zipper in a back side so that you can bring the arms of the slipcover over to the front. Slide excess fabric into the nooks and crannies of the deck (bottom under the bottom cushions).

DSC_0090

 

Look in the corner here, right by the arm. See how the bottom cushion angles around the arm of the love seat. Well I am attempting to put the other cushion cover on. Always completely unzip it and work it over the  sticking out end(I know there is a technical name for this) first and it will be much easier to wiggle it onto the rest of the cushion.

DSC_0092

 

Ta da!!! One fabulous summery couch. I love these things. The wrinkles really do disappear in about 24 hours. From experience I can tell you that chocolate handprints, and nosebleed residue WILL WASH OUT!!! I can’t afford a summer set of couches, and really, where would I store them?! I change out my pillows (like the gorgeous designer collaged pillow above, from a previous blog post) and voila! a whole new look. They aren’t hard to make, just very time consuming. If you live in the Grass Valley, CA area, call Judy Stokes. She is the BEST!

DSC_0985

 

Maybe you remember this pic from a few posts ago. Well…it WAS ACCEPTED!! Here’s one more teaser pictureDSC_0058

 

Big whoop, huh? Sorry. I will ask if I can show more. My Triangle Tote will be a project in the Winter 2015 edition of Modern Patchwork. If you saw my Quilted Summer Backpack in the Spring 2014 edition of Modern Patchwork, then you know what a great magazine (more like a book, with full sized patterns included) it is. DSC_0182

 

This is where I was. One of my most FAVORITE places ever! Lake Tahoe, Zephyr Point FROM OUR BALCONY PEOPLE! Thursday, June 13th, 8:44p.m.  I have to show you one more shot, two minutes later. I never tire of this view.

DSC_0186

 

Hugs, Heidi

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tutorial Tuesday and other Fun Stuff!

    1. Oh Mary, you are so cute!! Thank you for asking. Yes, I did make it and I WILL pin it onto my “Pillows” board. It is a fun technique that I will be showing in my workshop at the Artistic Alchemy Retreat at Zephyr Point this Sept. 2-5. Check out our blog: Artisticalchemyblog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

