Creating Your Own Visual Style

“Create your own visual style… let it be unique for yourself and yet identifiable for others.”  -Orson Welles

Can you believe it! He said that, and yet, Yowza, his visual style was so unique to himself and so boldly identifiable to others. We all need to try this, in our dress, our homes, our gardens, our lives. I’m working on it. In fact here are a few pictures of concrete evidence of my own  Unique Visual Style:DSC_0793DSC_0788

My Calypso Vest Pattern. It is available for sale on Craftsy.com/sewing patterns/Heidi Emmett.

DSC_0799

Calypso Vest in a softer, summery color way. I love the raw edge sewing. And because the strips that go round and round are cut on the bias, they never ravel!  A bonus!I love raw edge sewing but hate all the strings.

DSC_0797

I love how the graceful bias strips swoop up into a very cool collar. I LOVE my VISUAL STYLE! It is unique to me, and someday will be identifiable to so many others!

NIK_0167web

Remember my 25 year old Carol Horn Duster Coat that I appliqued? And then…DSC_0164

25 years + later, I chopped it off and added something different to make it My Unique Visual Style…

NIK_0175WEB

 

DSC_0179

Please visit, Artisticalchemyblog.wordpress.com to see more of my Visual Style and what I will be teaching in my workshop at our 1st annual Artistic Alchemy Retreat at Zephyr Point, Lake Tahoe, September 2-5, 2014!

DSC_0815

Look what I found this past weekend! Yes, it’s another Carol Horn 25 + year old duster coat. I was obsessed with machine applique’ back then.DSC_0808DSC_0813

Hmmm…what to do on the front for “My Unique Visual Style?” What will YOU do this week in your creative time? Fifteen minutes a day, that’s all you need to get started. Hugs, Heidi

P.S. Don’t forget Modern Patchwork ,Spring Edition is on stands starting TODAY!!!!! My Quilted Summer Backpack project is in there!

2 thoughts on “Creating Your Own Visual Style

Leave a Reply

