“Baby it’s COLD outside”!!!!

Sorry I’m a bit late with this post. Very busy holiday and beyond. I picked the very, very, last of my Sun Sugar tomatoes in the nick of time. I still can’t believe that I had tomatoes until December 1st! But now, how low will we go? The low last night was 22 degrees. AND we might really, really, have snow this Friday and Saturday! I WILL keep you posted on that. I had to show you ONE of our ThanksgivingTurkeys.  The other one was deep fried. Yum, yum. Two new things I learned about  cooking turkey. 1. You don’t need to baste it. I took a cube of butter and rubbed it all over the outside of the bird, did it again after 30 minutes and that was it! Wow, no more back aches pulling out the 25 pound turkey every 30 minutes. 2. Make some fabulous turkey broth for later. Throw the turkey (o.k., gently place) carcass into your crockpot, fill it to the brim with water, squeeze 1/2 of a fresh lemon into the water. Cover and cook on low for 24 hours. Cool it down and put in freezer containers (just the liquid) for future yummy soups. I will post again this afternoon , sewing related, I promise. I’m off to yet another luncheon. Tis’ the season. Hugs, Heidi  Image

One thought on ““Baby it’s COLD outside”!!!!

  1. Wow, your turkey looks great! Like your tips, too!

    Last night was kind of weird but OK. I was surprised at how ordinary the other quilts were. They were all hung on the classroom walls, and we each had three minutes to talk. It was nice to meet some of the other teachers. I got some great comments on my quilt, and I passed out AA and my C&T biz cards. I sure hope this class goes. . .

    I’m kind of nervous about lunch, but I’m sure it will be fine.

    Had the chance finally to look at the new issue of APQ, and wow, they are showing more modern stuff! I think I will pitch my brushed metal quilt to them and see what happens. I finally looked at Marcia’s new fabrics, and they are wonderful. Got me to thinking that I should ask Windham for free fabric. Why not??? I sure use a lot of her stuff. And maybe she would vouch for me.

    OK, CB, breathe in and out. . . . Missed my Calling Jesus this morning, but I remember what it says from before 🙂 Does that make sense?????

    C

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

