Whoops, no idea what happened!

Seems this happened last time I was away. Aaarrrgggh. I’m hopeless with technology.
Well, two pictures of ornamental cabbage. Loved the colors. And check out the dogwood tree. This one is very special because my sweet Dad gave it to me. He’s in heaven now so the trees he gave us our extra special. DSC_0132Here is the vest I wanted to show you. I wanted you to see the dogwood tree too and way off in the distance is the neighbors Christmas tree farm. DSC_0125DSC_0126DSC_0122DSC_0121

DSC_0123I think I will call this my Tahoe Cabin Vest. It really reminds me of being there and sitting by a roaring fire, sipping something yummy. Anyway, I made the vest a few years ago. The top portion of the front is an old wool sweater that I felted in the washing machine. With wool squares of fabric I pieced the front. I embroidered using pearl cotton in red, the easy herringbone stitch. The back is a leftover piece of wool plaid. The lining is cozy flannel. Oh the buttons, love them, deer antlers (remember they shed them every year so its o.k.) Yeah, they shed them all right, destroying small trees in the process. Oh well. I wore this fun vest for several seasons and then tucked it away. Well, when I got my felting machine (as an anniversary gift, I gave my husband a pressure washer!) I pulled my vest out again and added these fun bits to make it more current. When machine felting “stems”, DON’T cut off pieces of yarn first. Using one very long continuous piece, let it feed through on its own. Trim off the excess about three inches before finishing. The little birds are pieces of felt that I cut out using a punch cutter then outlined in yarn. What a fun vest to wear. And can you believe it, I FORGOT to take it with me to Lake Tahoe last week!
Have a fabulous fall week. Hugs, Heidi

One thought on “Whoops, no idea what happened!

Leave a Reply

