Fun, Felting Facts, and other stuff

DSC_0001DSC_0002DSC_0003DSC_0040 (2)

DSC_0004 “Red Vaaase” is the title of this piece by Heidi Emmett. Kidding! sort of. My idea with machine felting is going outside the norm of what you would usually see out there. I have been experimenting with yarns, threads, fabric snippets, and background fabrics.
Let’s back up a bit and give you a crash course on felting. There are two types, “wet”, and “dry”. Wet felting,uses roving (teased out yarn), and other fibers and adds water, agitation, and pressure to create a piece of fabric. Dry felting is working with pieces of yarn, roving, bits of fabric, and combined with
using one or more unthreaded, long sharp needles (by hand or a specialized felting machine), basically “paint” a picture. You pierce the yarn or “paint” into the background fabric over and over to capture the fibers into the background fabric.
My whole thing is I want to use felting all year ’round. That’s why I had to start experimenting with other fabrics and yarns besides wool. In the beginning, felted projectsout in the felting world all started with wool.
My background fabric is a heavy, slubbed, cotton duck. In the vase there are many types of yarn, teased, right off the skein (my fav) as well as rectangles of fabric (with yarn on top). Cotton duck and denim are fabulous background, but you cannot go ninety miles an hour or you will break a needle for sure. The flowers in the vase are made from a quasi bauble yarn. I rarely use a true bauble yarn as it will yield broken needles. I just wrapped the yarn in a circle and felted it down. O.K., I did stitch by sewing machine, after sticking them down with my forever favorite glue, the leaves. I could have easily used a yarn for the leaves, but that fabric was sitting close by so it was perfect. I will turn this into a floor pillow. I have the absolute coolest way to show you how to “glue” your yarn in place but will save it for next time.
Last night, the air had a wonderful moist, crispness, that to me speaks of fall. My brain immediately went to the pile of those wonderful Kaffe Fassett striped fabrics I showed you a few weeks ago. My new whisper blouse is finally cut out. I will finish it asap and hold my very own home grown pumpkin so you too will feel the thrill of a changing season. I only have one home grown pumpkin because the blankety blank deer ate all the leaves and blossoms off of my other three plants. Yes, they are out in the open mixed in with flowers to throw them off. Ha, ha. They ate those too. If only we could afford to fence our entire acre and a half.
Have a creative week.
Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

