Rectangles

CARD-BACK-PNG Don’t forget to check out Craftsy.com/sewing patterns/ Heidi Emmett to see four fun and easy to sew garments. I am making some very COOL jewelry pieces that I hope to get onto Craftsy too (at some point).
So many great, easy and fun projects, so little time!DSC_0026 Now, the rectangle idea. Rectangular pieces for clothing are not new. The Japanese have perfected rectangles. But there is always room for new ideas. Rectangles are the theme for a challenge in the SWAG (Sierra Wearable Art Group) group I belong to. I have two more on the drawing board. But here is my first one: I started with a really fun linen fabric. Whoops, I have to go down a “bunny trail” here. If you have an Ikea store in your area, be sure to check out their fabric department! Many, many, fun cottons, linens, and others that are usually 60″ wide and $4.99-$8.99 yard. This piece is 100% linen (washed 3 times to make it softer). Check out the unusual items on this piece. THINK about where you are cutting. I have the dog’s butt right at my neckline. A pin/brooch might be in order here. The fabrics at Ikea’s have so many uses, from clothing to home dec. They change twice a year, and it is hit or miss but well worth a look see. DSC_0034DSC_0035 (2)DSC_0040 (2)DSC_0037 (2) Only two rectangles were needed for this top. I started by making the pleats at the top (on front and back) and topstitching them down with a variegated thread. Linen is so great to work with, having both body and weight (Best Press helps too). I made a fun pieced pocket (each piece a rectangle of course. After stitching the shoulders and side seams (keep some slits on the bottom sides), I put it on my mannequin and finger folded pleats that fell from the pleats at the top. You have several choices at this point, higher pleats, pleat like mine (at the waist), lower, or none at all. I whip stitched the pleats in place, purposely making a softer look. You could smash the pleats flat and top stitch in them at the appropriate place for your body type. That’s it! Who knew you could have so much fun starting with two rectangles. I hope you have a chance to try this yourself. Let me know what you come up with. Have a creative week.
Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

