Art Girlz Create!

When it’s summer the art girlz come together. Our friend Juliana Edlund started this group and every time we meet, the theme is different but arts and crafts are always involved. Food, friendship, and fun is what we do!
This past event took place at my home, on what turned out to be the hottest day of the year! Juliana planned the tablescapes, brought in the music,had all the food catered, while I did a fun art project (more about that in a minute). My niece brought in her jewelry for all to try on and/or buy. We didn’t even mind the heat with all the fun stuff going on.
My project is called “Flower Power”. Starting with a canvas, we did a wash of acrylic (watered down) and let it flow to create, sky and grass. We added a few stampings with found objects. Left over paper towels (from cleaning brushes in another project) were torn and layered to create rolling hills. White paper napkins were torn and glued down to create clouds.
All gluing was done with Modge Podge and a cheap, chip brush. Layers of beautiful papers were cut in “non” perfect circles to form flowers and a sun. Beads were added to colored wire and shaped to form the centers, stems and leaves. Diamond Glaze (a great glue) was used to hold the wire in place. Heavier objects were placed on top to hold them until dry.
Everyone deemed the project a success. Several had NEVER done ANYTHING creative like this. There was no wrong way to create this simple, fun, project. I had so much fun working with the ladies on this, that a week later, I did the same thing, only on fabric(I still used the paper towel hills and clouds, but the flowers are silk fabric as is all other materials). I really like the result. I wish I could sew some of these flowers on a garment, but knowing me, I would probably snag them on everything.
Have a great week everyone. I am off to a cabin 100 ft. from Lake Tahoe.My husband and I are going to Zephyr Point Presbyterian Conference Center. Look it up. You can stay in cabins or conference rooms. It’s funky, but we don’t care. I am taking my sewing machine too, I’ll show you what I create when I get back.
Hugs, HeidiDSC_0841

DSC_0840

DSC_0852

DSC_0871

DSC_0872

DSC_0877

DSC_0890

DSC_0487

Leave a Reply

