My Last Assembly with all my Students!

Meet The Masters has been a program that I have been doing for the past 7 years at a K-8 school here in Grass Valley, CA My part is to speak to all the students (K-6th, 500 kids) once a month or so about a great Master Artist. I give the art history of that months artist. I have a great time teaching and I try to make it fun and memorable. I do it with slides and music and sometimes the artist (an actor) themselves. When “Mr. Remington” showed up in his western garb, well the first graders in the front rows just went crazy. And how about the little 2nd grader who told me that Remington’s bronzes were made out of Chocolate! We also give all the students an opportunity to work an art project in that Artists medium (or close to it), through an art docent. I work with Special Needs kids. Seventeen years I have worked in the art area with this school, starting with kindergarten and my son’s class. It has been the BEST!
The reason I tell all this is that, especially in these past 7 years with the MTM program (check it out on line at Meet The Master.com) I have learned right along with the students, and all the great art projects. Many of them have been or will be spring boards to future ideas whether it’s clothing, quilts, or jewelry. In fact one of the Terrific Tabard Vests, “Tree of Life” came from our MTM program on Mr. Gustav KlimSalvadore Dali Assembly 4/13t. I would encourage you to pick an artist a month and google them and learn about the why and who they were or are today. I will and I already have my next artist picked out: she is a 3-D chalk painter, Tracy Lee Stum. Her website is TracyLeeStum.com.
Be sure to see all my patterns at Craftsy.com /patterns/sewing/clothing, Zephyr Jacket, Whisper Blouse, and Skinny Vest aka Terrific Tabard.
Thanks for stopping by this week.
Hugs, Heidi

One thought on “My Last Assembly with all my Students!

  1. How interesting to read about what you have been teaching the kids about art fine art! They have been so lucky to have the experience. And I can see how it would influence your own creative work; that’s making the most of art history. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

