Hello everyone:

July 18, 2011

I can’t believe that three weeks have gone by already.  Aaarrrgghh!  I have to become more consistent with my writing.  I have no problem talking (ask my family)!

I have finished a very fun project that you might want to try.  It is a reversible jean jacket.  Remember I am into repurposed clothing.  I went to a Cabi show (Carol Anderson clothing not sold in stores anymore but at home shows) and saw this very cool jean jacket for $98.00.  It was plain washed denim on the outside and then turn it inside out and it had French seams (seams enclosed with a contrasting fabric) and a giant stenciled “French looking” design on the back.  LOVED IT!

Plain is not my thing, so I added a cut up t-shirt and little crocheted flowers to the right side back (see picture).  The t-shirt piece was machine stitched and the hand crocheted flowers (cut from some unremarkable garment) and tacked down. Check out the great bright red French seams along with my “French looking” stenciled inside back.  I used Delta Ceramcoat (Midnight Blue) and using a stencil brush, dry-brushed over a stencil by The Crafter’s Workshop called “Brocade”.  When the acrylic paint dries, iron it over and over (I set the iron to cotton with steam) directly on the paint area.  The steam keeps it from scorching.  Now it is heat set and will go through the wash on gentle.  Line dry.

I love, love, love it!  I have also decided that I will keep and enjoy wearing my proto types and sell the rest.  I have almost finished another jacket using the “Birds in Bird Cages” stencil by The Crafter’s Workshop.  Check out their website: TheCraftersWorkshop.com. I really want the peace sign stencil.

We are enjoying some unseasonably cool weather so I will be wearing my new jacket, but which side?  Decisions, decisions.  Take care now…..

Leave a Reply

